July Wrap-Up and August TBR

375332 copy

July

July has been a great month! My boyfriend and I got couple tattoos (they look amazing!) and my Grandma arrived from Australia to visit me and her family that still live over here. It was so nice to see her and can’t wait til she’s back with us in August. It’s also been a great month of reading for me 😀 😀 As you’ll see below…

 

Books I Read

51OiX2d368L._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

So, the second book in Justin Cronin’s epic Vampire saga. Much like with the first book, it took me awhile to warm up. But, around a quarter or so in, I was pretty hooked again. My problem was that I wanted to read about the characters I already knew, rather than a new group of them, so I was a little stumped at first. BUT, and this is the important thing about this series, YOU HAVE TO KEEP READING. If you’re ever like me when you read these books, maybe feeling a little bored with some characters or whatever, just keep going! It all makes sense in the end and all falls into place so amazingly. The Twelve keeps you on your toes to the point you really have no idea what’s coming next. It’s exciting, raw and yep, a little bit terrifying. Brilliant read.

 

51LE1gh-YrL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I had absolutely no idea what I expected from the third and final book of The Passage series, I only knew that I’d sat next to my boyfriend while he was reading it and it made him so psyched, he couldn’t put it down. I read it shortly after finishing The Twelve and it took me a little less time to read than the others. I think it might be my favourite of the trilogy, though I can’t really pinpoint why. It really just bought the whole story into a whole, everything came together in a way that was unexpected, brave and clever. There’s a whole segment in this book that I didn’t expect to like as it was focused on a character we hadn’t really met yet (NO SPOILERS), but I actually thoroughly enjoyed it. I just loved seeing how everything panned out for the characters I’d gotten to know over the last few weeks. I can’t really fault this book as a finale, it’s pretty spectacular. Definitely think you should read this series if you’re at all interested in an enthralling story, raw characters and of course, vampires. And not one’s that sparkle or are much like anything you’ve probably seen before. I recommend this series to all :).

 

33961524 (1)

The best thing this coming-out novel had going for it was humour. It made me laugh almost on every page. Noah is one funny guy! In some ways, I feel like the book was a bit too far away from my age group (though I can’t really be considered a Young Adult myself anyway anymore, even if I feel like I haven’t changed much since I was one), because some of it was a bit immature/dumb. But I guess that was part of the charm and part of Noah’s discovery of himself. I did really enjoy it overall. Noah’s Grandma is the best character beside Noah himself, and well, his relationship with Harry is pretty darn adorkable. A nice, easy little read :).

 

alex-approximately-9781481478779_hr

Now, this was exactly the kind of feel-good YA contemporary I’ve been looking for. It made me gush and laugh and even get a bit weepy inside. Bailey is a great character. I couldn’t put the book down. I can’t say much else because I don’t want to spoil it, but if you’re looking for a fun book to read, this one’s it.

 

phoenix-pb

I am a massive fan of Carlos Ruiz Zafon, so decided to read one of his three young adult novels, the first one he ever published. I enjoyed The Prince of Mist enough to want to check out the other ones, but I think the translation of this particular story got a little lost at times, so I couldn’t connect to it at times. It seemed the language was often over simplified. But, still, Zafon is a fantastic storyteller and he always manages to surprise me with his fantastic mysteries, so I can’t really fault him too much.

 

73ba65ee-40e1-4168-bc65-816591836d73.jpg._CB316523193_.jpg

I bought this on a whim for 99p on my kindle and soon after I noticed there’s a lot of hate on this book on Goodreads. Which, now that I’ve read it, I can understand but some of it I don’t agree with. People were slamming the main character, Molly, for never learning from her mistakes, but I feel like she had to make those mistakes to learn. Molly wasn’t very in touch with herself, which made it seem like she never knew what she was doing, but there are times that we are all like that. It’s very human to be that way, to have no idea who you are and to make mistakes and to hurt people when you’re simply feeling too much. I think Molly is an interesting, flawed character. I actually liked that this book’s not your normal Contemporary teen romance story. It also contains a good lesson about double standards, so props for that.

 

28533682

Hands down one of the most raw and honest novels about sexuality and belonging I’ve ever read. I adored it. It actually made me cry. I want to write a proper review for this book because I think it deserves it, so hopefully I get some time to. Seth King isn’t always the perfect writer. There were times I thought Cole’s monologues rambled a bit and that feelings and ideas were often repeated. But King knows exactly how to get his points across and how to make you feel, deep in your heart. This is so worth the read and such an important story, telling to the world as it is today, the world that many of us don’t see. Read it.

 

 

books-library-legal-ss-1920

August

28458598.jpg

31194576

28763485.jpg

51kkT4dXV+L.jpg

girl mans up cover.jpg

2 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up and August TBR

Leave a Reply

