Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite 2016 Reads

top-ten-tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This Week’s Topic: Top Ten Best Books Of 2016. 

For my top 10 2016 reads I chose books regardless of their publcation :). 2016 was a pretty good year for reading, but it was easy enough to choose these 10 books as my fave reads :).

 

1)

The Dark Tower 1-7 by Stephen King

the-dark-tower

Phenomenal, epic fantasy/apocalyptic series. A must read. Seriously, add this to your tbr!

2)

Anything That Isn’t This by Chris Priestly

61MAT2wVa0L

I thought this was such a wonderful book :).

3)

The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

13623012

I have some of the best memories of reading this in Barcelona with my boy :).

4)

The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

32333321

A surprising and really touching read :).

5)

Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas

24907086

This book is so clever and witty and heartbreaking. A great story about friendship.

6)

The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint-Exupery

157993

I can’t believe I only read this this year! Amazing story, so meaningful and important.

7)

All The Birds In The Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

9780765379948_custom-a047a9fe6159435f98535d0c3369b717733b8de1-s400-c85

One of the weirdest stories I’ve ever read, I love how creative it was (even if the end didn’t work for me…)

8)

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

cover_9781609450786_131_600

A gripping and wonderfully detailed story about friendship and growing up. Can’t wait to read the rest of the series in 2017!

9)

Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

https-%2F%2Fblueprint-api-production.s3.amazonaws.com%2Fuploads%2Fcard%2Fimage%2F80840%2FHOLDING_UP_THE_UNIVERSE_by_Jennifer_Niven_Cover

My most anticipated 2016 read, really enjoyed this one 🙂

10)

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

17661416

Really good debut, loved it!

Bonus:

11)

The Stand by Stephen King

the-stand-book-cover2

It was incredible!! I’m very proud of myself for reading this whopper in a few weeks if I do say so 😛

Have you read any of these? What are your favourite 2016 reads? 🙂

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite 2016 Reads

  1. I am reading the Dark Tower series , having completed the wizard and glass (review here – https://ablogaboutbook.wordpress.com/2016/12/24/a-disappointing-turn-of-events-book-review-wizard-and-glass-by-stephen-king/) only last week , Earlier i had wanted to finish the series by the end of 2016 but that hope is gone for now . I dare say Dark Tower series has been very inconsistent for me , I really disliked the first book (although after reading the next 2 books i did come to like it in hind sight) , then liked the next 2 books but really felt like the Wizard and glass was a meh book 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh such a shame you didn’t enjoy book 4, I personally loved it, but as a flashback novel it does move away from the present story. Oh well! Are you going to continue reading?? Happy new year 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

