Top Ten Tuesday: New To Me Authors

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

The Topic This Week: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016. 

I have my favourite authors, but I’m always keen to read things by authors I haven’t read yet and discovering new voices/stories. In 2016 I’ve only read 40 books (not going to get much closer to my 60 book goal, but oh well) and a lot of them have been books by authors that are new to me and that I’ve really enjoyed as well. I’m definitely keen to read more of these author’s books!So here they are 🙂

 

1)

Nicola Yoon

pic_1475568059.jpg

Everything, Everything 

“You can’t predict the future. It turns out that you can’t predict the past either. Time moves in both directions – forward and backward – and what happens here and now changes them both.”

 

2)

Leah Thomas

2Q8I988u1a.png

Because You’ll Never Meet Me 

“Let me tell you a wondrous story. For once, let me be the shining one. It is springtime. Birds are noisiest now. I can almost see the shape of the sky.”

3)

Emma Mills

Author_pic_2jzYXTj.jpg

First & Then

“A thousand electric cars could run on how you feel when you know that the person you like likes you back. It feels incredible. Like it shouldn’t be possible. Of all the happy coincidences to ever exist, it’s one of the happiest.”

4)

Chris Priestley

Chris-Priestley-010.jpg

Anything That Isn’t This

“The whole of society became hooked on these dreams.”

 

5)

Meg Leder

zsgkyu8S.jpeg

The Museum of Heartbreak

“As I glanced around my room, sliding my dinosaur back and forth on its chain, I though that maybe that was the point–that instead of happy endings, you get beginnings. Hundreds of little beginnings happening every moment, each of them layering into histories deep and tangled and new, histories you count on to remain, no matter what changes the world throws at you.”

6)

R.J Ellory

ellory_2327948c.jpg

A Quiet Belief In Angels 

“A life to hold, or to see slip through uncaring and inattentive hands, but always a life. And given one, we wish for two, or three, or more, so easily forgetting the one we had was spent unwisely”

7)

Elena Ferrante

woman_head_silhouette_2t2z-260x300.jpg

(I couldn’t find the face of real Ferrante as her name is a pseudonym..)

My Brilliant Friend, The Neapolitan Novels 

“Children don’t know the meaning of yesterday, of the day before yesterday, or even of tomorrow, everything is this, now: the street is this, the doorway is this, the stairs are this, this is Mamma, this is Papa, this is the day, this the night.”

 

8)

Ransom Riggs

ransom.jpg

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children 

“..what an unchallenging life it would be if we always got things right on the first go.”

9)

Charlie Jane Anders

54cd83673a3be.jpg

All The Birds In The Sky 

“You know… no matter what you do, people are going to expect you to be someone you’re not. But if you’re clever and lucky and work your butt off, then you get to be surrounded by people who expect you to be the person you wish you were.”

10)

Francesca Zappia

picedited.jpg

Made You Up 

“Believing something existed and then finding out it didn’t was like reaching the top of the stairs and thinking there was one more step.”

Have you read any of these Authors books? 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New To Me Authors

  1. I read the whole of Randsom Rigg’s Miss Peregrine series this year. Great series, can’t believe I hadn’t read it before. I kept meaning to read All The Birds In The Sky this year too but just ran out of time.

    Great List, Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, glad you liked it. I’m definitely keen to read the rest of the series 🙂
      All The Birds In The Sky is awesomely weird and quirky, I hope you enjoy it!
      Thanks a lot 🙂 Happy reading and holidays to you too! 🙂
      Jasmine

      Like

Leave a Reply

