Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Films

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

The topic this week: Movie Freebie 

I haven’t been doing TTT’s for ages!! I’ve been busy, plus I haven’t been able to think of good lists to go with the topics over the last few weeks. Still, I’m now back and for this week’s Movie Freebie, I decided to do a pretty easy Favourites list. I love a lot of films, but these are some of my ultimate favourites, movies that I love to watch and re-watch and that always make me happy :). Of course, these are in no particular order.

 

1)

Amelie

am2.jpg

The sweetest, quirkiest film I’ve ever seen. I love it to pieces. It’s brilliant, clever, heartbreaking and heartwarming. And Amelie herself is just one of the best female characters ever!

2)

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

eternal-sunshine-of-the-spotless-mind.jpg

Such a brilliantly compelling film. I love Jim and Kate in this. I love the concept of it, so unique! This is a film that I’ll never, ever forget.

3)

Little Miss Sunshine

concurso-do-blog.jpg

Outstanding! Fantastic group of actors playing one of the most dysfunctional film families. Such a wonderful script, story and overall message. Hilarious, honest and so, so pully at your laughter and heart strings!

4)

Donnie Darko

slmqmrcgbncpd6hn4jhb.jpg

Donnie’s story is one that I’ve always loved, though it took me a couple of watches back in the day to really get it. I love how strange this film is, it’s just wonderful. No words for it, really.

5)

Palo Alto

Palo-Alto-Movie-Wallpapers.jpg

I didn’t expect to love this film as much as I do, and I know that it’s one of those polarising films. I think it’s a raw and true depiction of teenage life in suburbia, has amazing acting and cinematography and is just all-together a masterpiece.

6)

Short Term 12

short-term-12-brie-larson-1.jpg

Brie Larsen’s character is yet another of my favourite female characters, even though she can be a little insane. But seriously, this film is tremendous. It tells such an important story about foster children, and how far humans can go to help those in desperate need.

7)

The Lord of the Rings

4424_5.jpg

The LOTR trilogy just had to be on my list because I adore it so much. It’s probably the best adaptation of a book/series I’ve ever seen. So, so amazing! Just everything about it.

8)

Harry Potter 

trio-1.jpg

I couldn’t have a list of Favourite films without Harry Potter on it. This is my childhood. Any of the 8 HP’s are my top go-to for whenever I need some cheering up. Sure, they’re not perfect films, but they’re still amazing and I love them to bits.

9)

Stand By Me

Stand-By-Me-DI.jpg

One of the most incredible films I’ve ever seen about friendship and bravery. This film has all the feels. An amazing story straight from King and just phenomenal in all senses of the word.

10)

Eagle Vs Shark

EAGLE-VS-SHARK.png

So, this one is a little bit of a wild card. Definitely not well-known (as far as I know :P). It’s super strange, but also super hilarious because of it. I love this NZ film, it’s very special to me and always makes me smile without fail :).

And that’s it! What do you think? Have any of these made your favourites list, too? 😀

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Films

  1. Great list. I have The Lord of the Rings on my list although I have never read the books but the movies are amazing. Sadly, I am yet to read or watch HP though your post makes me feel like I am missing out. I hope to get to them soon:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you do too! I know it’s more of a commitment, but for HP I recommend reading the books versus reading the films, if you’re not planning on doing both that is 😛 Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

