Book Traveling Thursday: Freebie

IMG_20160804_153518

Book Traveling Thursday is an awesome weekly event held by Danielle and Catia over on Goodreads. There’s a new topic every week and the deal is to share why you chose the book and four different covers of the book: The Original Cover, Your Countries Cover, Your Least Favourite and Your Favourite:).

This week it’s Free Choice!!

I decided on a topic from June:

Yesterday was International Children’s Day!! Choose a book you would read in your childhood if you could go back in time.

The book(s) I chose was a very easy choice, as I’ve always been kicking myself over the fact that I’ve never read them, let alone that I never read them in my childhood. Shameful!! I’m planning to finally read this series this year and I can’t wait because I’ve only ever heard good things 🙂

 

His Dark Materials (1995-2000) by Phillip Pullman

 

Original Covers:

At least I THINK these are the original Scholastic covers. There seemed to be quite a few different ones. Anyhow, I like these ones quite a lot 🙂

Australian Covers:

There doesn’t seem to be any purely Australian publications of His Dark Materials. So I just chose this newer Scholastic (therefore UK/USA publication) which I like and could easily have gone into my Favourites :).

Least Favourite Covers:

his-dark-materials-trilogy.jpg

Besides the fact that the title was changed to The Golden Compass for the first one in this lot, I just simply don’t like these covers. They’re too cartoonish. They’re not horrible, though.  I do think the animals look okay and The Amber Spyglass one is certainly interesting. There are probably worse ones out there.

Favourite Covers:

hdm-covers.jpg

I love this edition to pieces, it’s so pretty! Just love the design of these, really lovely.

I’m not even sure if you can even buy these ones… They’re HDM publications and I just love them because they’re so different. I especially love the Northern Lights one :).

 

So, that’s it from me this week! What do you guys think of these covers?

5 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: Freebie

  1. I love the original, Australian and first of your favourites. They’re all such beautiful designs and colours, I really like how each set looks like it belongs together while keeping each book individual.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your least favorite covers were my favorites for years, lol! I actually prefer the Golden Compass title to Northern Lights, just because it goes with the theme of all the titles being significant objects. But I agree, your favorite covers are the BEST. I had to buy them immediately when they came out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s true, I never really thought of it like that. I haven’t even read them yet (as you know by the topic haha) so I guess I shouldn’t really be berating the change of title haha. I’m glad you like my favourite of the covers, I definitely want to own them!! They’re just so pretty 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

