Book Review: The Museum of Heartbreak

the-museum-of-heartbreak-9781481432108_hr.jpg

The Museum of Heartbreak was a pleasant surprise. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it nearly as much as I did, nor to read it quite as quickly as I did (it’s only a short novel, but I read it in a day). It was a really entertaining and relatable read. It made me laugh, made me think back to my high school days and made me wish I had a friend like Penelope.

The book is about Penelope, who creates her own personal Museum of Heartbreak when she experiences heartbreak for the first time. And not in the way you’d first think! (Although who she gets heartbroken over is pretty predictable, but in the best way predictable can be!). The whole concept is so creative and works so well as the backbone for the story as a whole. I love the collection of objects that are part of the museum and how they start each chapter. Brilliant! The meaning of the novel is wonderful and important, and I loved it because I know that we’ve all felt the things Penelope does in our lives. We’ve all been there.

Penelope is one of the best YA Contemporary heroines I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading about. I think she’s wonderful. Hilarious, honest, quirky and just someone I know I’d get along with so well. She believes in true love, she loves reading and writing and she loves dinosaurs (among many other wonderful things). She’s great. Definitely the highlight of the novel. Without her as the main character, I wouldn’t have liked the novel nearly as much. Even if one of her best guy friends Eph had still been in it. And he was pretty wonderful 🙂 There are a number of great characters in this novel, and there are also a few characters that we’re meant to flat out hate. If you read it, you’ll know exactly who they are. I think I’m in the small percentage of people, however, that didn’t really like Pen’s other best friend, Audrey.

Overall, I really enjoyed this novel. It was smart and entertaining. There were some things I didn’t like about it, but such things I can’t mention without being spoilery, but I will say it has everything to do with Pen’s falling in love with a certain douchebag. I just didn’t get why she liked him from the start…but sometimes we’re all blind when it comes to those things.

But, really. When a book has an awesome Buffy conversation at the start and talks about dinosaurs a lot, how can I not like it? I definitely recommend this novel to those of you who enjoy relatable high school tales about true friendship, love and life museums.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Museum of Heartbreak

Leave a Reply

