Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite All-Time Fantasy/Sci Fi (aka Ranking The Dark Tower and LOTR)

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

The topic this week: Top Ten ALL TIME Favourite Books Of X Genre. 

I’m personally always terrible at doing favourite ALL-TIME lists in one GENRE. I find it quite difficult because, besides YA as a general genre, I just don’t really have a specific genre that I have loads of all-time favourite books in. My favourites tend to be all different genres… Anyways, I digress.

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do this week and considered not even doing the TTT, which I told my boyfriend. But then he suggested I simply rank the 20 books that make up King’s The Dark Tower and Tolkien’s LOTR , as they’re favourite fantasy/sci novels of ours. So, he talked me into that, and that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

(I wanted to put Harry Potter in this, too, but ranking HP is IMPOSSIBLE).

So.

Here we have The Dark Tower and The Lord of The Rings books ranked, starting with my least favourite at number 10 and my favourite at number 1….:P

(THIS WAS REALLY HARD)

10.

The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower 1)

51bygq6FSkL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

As much as I really enjoyed reading The Gunslinger and loved and appreciated it more once I’d finished the whole series, and as much as it’s really special to me because of my boyfriend, I had to choose my least favourite of this series and this one just got the short stick. It’s one of those first in the series books that I found a little hard to get into because a lot of it seemed like a giant riddle. If I re-read it, I’d probably think differently, though, because it’s a phenomenal book as part of the series.

9.

The Two Towers (LOTR 2)

two-towers.jpg

The Two Towers is a great book, but it’s also, as we know, the middle book in LOTR. Therefore, it’s just a bit weaker than the others. There’s still loads of great moments in this book and I love it a lot. Really, it mirrors the films in that The Two Towers is my least favourite, but oh, it comes very close.

8.

Song of Susannah (The Dark Tower 6)

Song_UK

Song of Susannah is still a wonderful book, even if I have ranked it at no.8. I just felt like it was a bit of a filler novel before the final book and that it wasn’t as strong as the other books in the series.

7.

Wolves of the Calla (The Dark Tower 5)

dt_uk_5_new

Wolves of the Calla is so, so good. Would be as a standalone if it wasn’t part of the series. I enjoyed it more than Song of Susannah for reasons unknown (my brain isn’t working well tonight…). Anyhow, this is just the nature of ranking haha.

6.

The Fellowship of the Ring (LOTR 1)

the-fellowship-of-the-rings.jpg

The Fellowship of the Ring is such a great opener of a series. I loved meeting all the characters and getting carried away into the story and the beginning of Frodo’s journey.

5.

Wizard and Glass (The Dark Tower 4)

wizard-and-glass-new1

Wizard and Glass is such a great book!! I can’t really say why because that would be far too spoilery, but I just love how different it is to the rest of the series and how it gives you so much background story into Roland’s life. It’s heartbreaking!!

4.

The Waste Lands (The Dark Tower 3)

waste-lands-new

I couldn’t put The Waste Lands down! It’s such a wonderful story. Suspenseful and hilarious and the book in the series where Roland and his katet come together even more than they did in the previous novel. It’s so good!!!

3.

The Drawing of the Three (Dark Tower 2)

drawing-of-the-three-new

I love The Drawing of the Three because there are so many wonderful introductions of characters and the beginning of the main storyline that slowly progresses throughout the rest of the series. I just loved this book. It got me hooked in 🙂

2.

The Return of the King (LOTR 3)

lotrreturn.jpg

The Return of the King is a wonderful finale to the series, there’s just no doubt about it. I love it a lot. Makes me all emotional!!

1.

The Dark Tower (The Dark Tower 7)

the-dark-tower

There’s no question that the final book of The Dark Tower is my favourite fantasy/sci-fi book of all-time and my favourite of the series and of LOTR, too haha. I loved this book an awful lot.. It blew my mind. 😀 😀

And that’s it! Have you read LOTR or The Dark Tower and agree/disagree?

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite All-Time Fantasy/Sci Fi (aka Ranking The Dark Tower and LOTR)

  1. I love the Dark Tower series and yet none of my friends have ever heard of it! The last book especially is great as there are a couple of sentences in there that if you miss them I feel you miss the key to the whole series (like what Roland’s guns are made out of and about picking up the horn) oh I want to go re-read them now…but that’s dangerous! Like the old man said in Neverending Story 2…books change when you read them again!!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Very happy to find another Dark Tower fan. I don’t know many myself, though I guess I’ve only just joined the herd haha. Very true, the series is so clever and there are so many things in it that are easily missed the first time around. I kinda wanted to re-read the first book after I finished the last, as I know there’d be so much I’d get that I didn’t the first time haha. But, you’re right. Books are always different every time you read them and it’s often better to just experience some books once 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

