Traveling Thursdays: Food!!

IMG_20160804_153518

Book Traveling Thursday is an awesome weekly event held by Danielle and Catia over on Goodreads. There’s a new topic every week and the deal is to share why you chose the book and four different covers of the book: The Original Cover, Your Countries Cover, Your Least Favourite and Your Favourite:).

The topic this week: Almost everyone loves to snack while reading. Choose a book that Focuses on Food, Eating, or Cooking.

Food, Food, Food! I definitely love to have a snack while I’m reading, usually something like fruit or chocolate or cheese and crackers or biscuits. With tea or a milo 😀

As much as I love food, it was a little difficult to think of a book I know that focuses on food, eating or cooking… (I’m sure there are lots but I just couldn’t think of anything).

I finally came up with a book that I thought was a pretty good choice really because, even though it’s not majorly about food, it is about characters/creatures that really REALLY love food: Hobbits, Dwarfs and (in a much more disgusting way) Trolls and there’s a lot of talk about food and eating in the story.

tourte01

So, without further ado:

 

The Hobbit (1937) by J.R.R Tolkien

The Original Cover:

thehobbit_firstedition

A good old hardcover 🙂 I actually really like this. The mountain and dragon illustrations are so lovely.

Australian  Cover:

1334340289915

These are Allen & Unwin covers from 1966 and 1981. Some oldies!

Least Favourite Covers:

6288724842491

There are so many covers of the Hobbit and I couldn’t find toooo many I didn’t like, but these two are definitely ones I just think are really ugly, especially the second o

Favourite Covers:

13456147

 

the_hobbit

The first of these is the Turkish cover, and I quite like it! But my absolute favourite is the second one. It’s the same cover on the copy I own, and I love it! So, so pretty 😀 :D.

Which cover is your favourite? 🙂

15 thoughts on “Traveling Thursdays: Food!!

  1. i love the Australian cover with Shire on it , i also really liked the covers you chose as your favourite the one with the one ring is awesome , i also own the last cover but i really wish i had the one with the ring as the cover that looks so PRECIOUSSSS

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

