Book Traveling Thursday: School Setting

IMG_20160804_153518

Book Traveling Thursday is an awesome weekly event held by Danielle and Catia over on Goodreads. There’s a new topic every week and the deal is to share why you chose the book and four different covers of the book: The Original Cover, Your Countries Cover, Your Least Favourite and Your Favourite:).

The topic this week: It’s back to school time! Choose a book set on high school or college.

Okays, so for this one I had to choose a book I haven’t posted about recently, which is kinda hard because a lot of books I read are set in schools hahaha. Anyway, eventually I decided on this wonderful book that I enjoyed a lot when I was in high school :). It’s a great story told through both perspectives of Bryce and Juli from the moment they met when they were in Grade 2 and Bryce became Juli’s neighbour in this little American town, into Junior High, where things get a little more complicated. It’s a thought provoking and adorable little story and I love it heaps. The film is also really good!

 

Flipped (2001) by Wendelin Van Draanen

 

Original Cover:

Flipped_by_Wendelin_Van_Draanen

Australian Cover:

flipped-by-wendelin-van-draanen-summary-20

Once again, there isn’t a cover I can find that is purely an Australian edition. So I went with this Macmillan edition, which is the very same one I read. Not much different to the original really haha.

Least Favourite Covers:

12336283

This is the Indonesian translation edition. There are quite a few of this book like this. I don’t like it all, the cheesy photograph and the ‘you never forget your first love’ caption. Eh…

22836084

And I don’t even know what to say about this Russian cover…Which is  admittedly worse than the one above!

Favourite Cover:

17409876

This Vietnamese edition is so cute! I’ve never seen it before but I think it’s adorable. It’s very fitting to the story, much like the chicken ones are (which I do quite like as well).

Well, that’s it. Which one is your favourite? 🙂

9 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: School Setting

  1. I have never read this book but I have seen it around. I agree with your least favorite covers. I feel like anything where a character is looking at me and smiling kind of losing the mystique of a book. I am WAY more likely to pick up the cover with a chicken on it!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

