Book Traveling Thursday: A Book That Makes Me Think About Traveling

IMG_20160804_153518

Book Traveling Thursday is an awesome weekly event held by Danielle and Catia over on Goodreads. There’s a new topic every week and the deal is to share why you chose the book and four different covers of the book: The Original Cover, Your Countries Cover, Your Least Favourite and Your Favourite:).

This week’s theme: Because reading takes us to a lot of different adventures choose a book that makes you think about traveling.

At first the only books I could think of for this topic were ones I’ve already used, like The Shadow of the Wind and Watership Down. A couple of YA books floated around in my head for awhile too, ones like Anna and the French Kiss and Paper Towns. But they weren’t quite right.

Eventually I decided on the book I chose. I chose this book because it’s a wonderful story about a young boy traveling through the Eygptian desert in search of his own meaning of life. I think it’s a really important novel, and it makes me think about how life-changing traveling to and being in new places can be :).

 

The Alchemist (1988) by Paulo Coelho

Original Cover:

17666012

As far as I know, this is the cover of the first ever edition of The Alchemist, published in Portuguese in 1988 by either a very small publishing company in Brazil that first published the book or the second publishing company that published it before it was eventually translated into English.

Australian (My country) Cover:

1747067641ybG235TcL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

I couldn’t really find a cover that was specifically in Australia, as Australia is often linked with other Publishing companies in UK and US, such as HarperCollins, who published both of these editions :). I quite like the spiral one!

Least Favourite Cover:

thealchemist_purplecov

This cover is the first English translation, published in 1993. The only thing I like about it is the purple background. It’s just a bit too busy for me, too much going on. And the art looks a little childish.

Favourite Cover:

{1946599C-2AB7-49DC-A5A9-1F4C3DD9C5D0}Img400

This cover is easily my favourite :). It’s the cover of the copy I own, which my boyfriend bought for me so it’s very special to me. It’s a beautiful cover for a beautiful book :).

Well, there you go! What do you think of the different covers?

11 thoughts on “Book Traveling Thursday: A Book That Makes Me Think About Traveling

    1. Thanks 🙂 Yeah, definitely, it does spoil the mood! I agree, it’s a mix with those two for my favourite too, really, but I chose the one I chose for more sentimental reasons I guess :). Thanks for leaving a comment!

      Like

    1. It’s really good!! 🙂 Kind of weird, but in a good way. It’s unique, that’s for sure. Hope you enjoy it!

      Sorry I couldn’t comment over on your blog, I’m not signed up with whatever accounts you need to comment. I haven’t read your choice of book, looks interesting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

