The Raven King: Book Review

The_Raven_King_Cover_Official

I was pretty excited to read this book and find out how it all ends for Blue, Gansy, Ronan, Noah and Adam. I read the first three books of The Raven Cycle pretty much one after the other last year and enjoyed them a lot, especially the first two. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy this one nearly as much. I don’t know if that’s because I’d moved on from Cabeswater in the last year, which could easily be the case. But I also have a suspicion that it’s because a lot of things just didn’t sit right with me this time around, and this is the main problem I had:

It didn’t feel like a finale to me. It felt…slow. It felt like nothing really happened until the last quarter of the novel. It felt like the characters (and thereby the story) was kind of just…dawdling. Dawdling along to fill in the time until we would find out what happened in the end. It confused me. The characters and the story just didn’t fit together as well as they had in previous novels. It was like they just weren’t talking to each other. There was, a times, this strange, disconnected vibe. Not just between the characters themselves, but also, I guess, between myself and the story.

I’m probably not really explaining this really well.

Basically, the novel wasn’t the exciting finale I was expecting. It felt mainly like filler and unfortunately this meant that by the time I reached the ending, it was simply just anti-climatic to me. A little disappointing.

Having said all of this, there were some things I quite enjoyed about this book. I like Maggie Stiefvater’s witty and unique way of writing. Her snarky style had me giggling a fair few times. I enjoyed the banter between the characters, and the group interactions were nice when we did get them. There were some particular developments I liked (not that I can mention them because of spoilers), even if some were a little predictable. I quite liked Henry, which I hadn’t expected. As always, I really liked Blue’s interaction with her family. And the magical, often dark, element of the book was really good.

I read this novel half-entertained and half-confused/bored. It was an odd reading experience. It’s a shame I didn’t like it as much as did the others. I’m sure there are a lot of fans who really enjoyed this book, as I can see why some people would enjoy it. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t anything special to me.

2-starsstar-147897_640

Read my review on the first three books of The Raven Cycle here.

Have you read The Raven King or the prequels? What did you think of it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

