Traveling Thursdays: Non-fiction books

IMG_20160804_153518

Book Traveling Thursday is an awesome weekly event held by Danielle and Catia over on Goodreads. There’s a new topic every week and the deal is to share why you chose the book and four different covers of the book: The Original Cover, Your Countries Cover, Your Least Favourite and Your Favourite:).

The topic this week: Because we don’t always read fiction… choose your favorite non-fiction book.

Well, I pretty much only read fiction so it was pretty easy to chose a non-fiction book because I only have one that I’ve actually read all the way through and that I really enjoyed as a wonderfully smart and clever book about women’s freedom and personal creativity. And that is:

A Room of One’s Own (1929) by Virginia Woolf 

 

The Original cover:

14b_room_of_own

At least, I think this is the original cover as it is in book form. The others I found were either set out like an essay front cover or a blank hardcover, so this is the best I could do.

My Country’s cover (Australia):

woolf07978014104488018521

Well, I couldn’t actually find a cover that was specifically Australian as there didn’t seem to be one. So, I just chose a few of the many Penguin copies of this book for this one :). And I really like these few covers a lot.

My Least Favourite:

roomofonesown

I found quite a lot of covers I didn’t like, but decided this was probably just about the worst one. It’s just…odd. I have no idea what country this was published in whatever, just don’t like it at all.

My Favourite(s):

aroom_640

I think this one is really clever because it shows emphasises what the book is about in a really clever and yet simplistic way.

18077686

Unfortunately I couldn’t find a better quality image of this other Penguin edition I found. I just love this, the rustic and vintage feel of the book and the key that unlocks a women’s private room of their own is just so, so cool :).

Well, that’s it from me. What book did you choose?

8 thoughts on “Traveling Thursdays: Non-fiction books

  1. I love the original and the last one! I don’t know why I love the original so much, but there’s something about it that catches my eye. It’s not even the best one, I don’t really know what it is about it.
    I have yet to read this book, hopefully I’ll do it soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

