Harry Potter Moment of the Week

IMG_0331

This is a wonderful weekly event created by Uncorked Thoughts and  hosted by  Lunar Rainbows. Join in!

This week’s question: Which books would you recommend to Dumbledore?

When I first saw this question I was just like, well… I have no idea how to answer that. What evil genius even come up with a question like this!? 😀

I had to have a good think. I thought about what Dumbledore is all about… magic, power, redemption, courage, wisdom. And I eventually came up with these three books/series that I think Dumbledore would enjoy because, basically, he would fit right in.

 

The Lord of The Rings by J. R. R Tolkien 

LOTR_book_covers

I feel like this will basically be on everyone’s list, but decided to go with it anyway. I think Dumbledore would really enjoy this story of adventure, sacrifice, magic and friendship, and everything else this series is about as, let’s face it, LOTR pretty much has everything. Besides, I strongly believe that Dumbledore would find his book soul mate in Gandalf heh.

 

The Dark Tower by Stephen King 

Maybe I’m recommending this to Dumbledore because I just finished it and it’s still on my mind and I just need to recommend it to everyone on the planet, fictional or otherwise, but I really do think Dumbledore would enjoy this series a great deal and that it would even surprise and impress him, the greatest wizard of his time.

 

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

The-Picture-of-font-b-Dorian-b-font-font-b-Gray-b-font-book-Locket-Necklace

I wanted to chose a non-fantasy, literary classic for Dumbledore and I don’t know specifically why I chose this one, but I just feel like it’s a book Dumbledore would enjoy and perhaps, in some way, even relate to, as it’s a novel about temptation and power, which is something Dumbledore himself struggled with.

Well, there you go :). What books do you think Dumbledore should read?

8 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week

  1. I went with LotR too^^ I think Dumbledore would really get a kick out of the adventure/quest storyline and I think he’d love Gandalf too – they’re so similar 😀 I still need to read the Dark Tower series though but I really want to! Awesome selection all around here!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choices. I would LOTR too and C. L. Wilson’s the Tairen Soul series. I think Dumbledore would love that as there are Faes, Mages and Tairens. I
    need to check out the Dark Tower series as Stephen King writes compelling stories. And though I haven’t read the book, I’m familiar with Dorian Gray. I very much like Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Ernest.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

