Top Five Wednesday: Favourite First Sentences

IMG_0736

Top 5 Wednesday is held hosted by mods Lainey and Samantha over on goodreads  🙂

The topic this week: Favourite First Sentences

It was easy to chose one of these sentences, but hard to choose the other four because, first of all, I don’t remember a lot of first sentences and, secondly, most of my books are back in boxes in Australia. The few I do have in my flat in England didn’t have the most amazing first sentences, no matter how amazing the books are. I found a couple with those, though, and I had to do a little online research to find the other two. Eventually, I managed to put together this nice little list of 5 sentences that I think are pretty great :).

 

outsiders_test_cover14

“When I stepped out into the bright sunlight from the darkness of the movie house, I had only two things on my mind: Paul Newman and a ride home.”

 

515EbWu1IeL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

“A secret’s worth depends on the people from whom it must be kept.”

 

51vlRzfB2cL

“There was  boy named Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it.”

 

61t67Xhl2CL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

“Dear friend, I am writing to you because she said you listen and understand and don’t try to sleep with that person at the party even though you could have.”

 

51bygq6FSkL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

“The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.”

9 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Favourite First Sentences

  1. Great list! I love the Narnia one, it’s so funny, but also very true, haha. Likewise, on a more serious note, I’ve always loved the opening of The Shadow of the Wind, it definitely sets the tone for the entire novel. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

