Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Set in Australia

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic: Top Ten Books With X Setting. I chose to do Top Ten Books Set in Australia because, even though it has its massive issues like most countries do, I miss being there with my family and am really looking forward to being back there one day. Some of these I’ve mentioned on my blog a number of times already, but I love them so much and they are awesome books you should all read :D.

 

Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey 

9781742372624

Jasper Jones is set in Corrigan, a small town in Western Australia where racism is practically second nature. It’s a coming of age story about a boy named Charlie who loves to read and gets mixed up in an ordeal with the town’s outcast Jasper Jones, a White-Aboroginal or what is know as “half-caste.” It’s a story of redemption, bravery and friendship. It’s a wonderful read.

 

Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones

41Z1m+zKxsL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Dreams of Speaking is set in Australia for only a small part of the novel, as the main character also spends a lot of time in Paris and Japan. However, I couldn’t not put this novel in as it’s one of my all-time favourites and I just adore it.

 

The Tomorrow Series by John Marsden 

tommorow-when-the-war-began-cover

The Tomorrow Series is either set in a rural somewhere of New South Wales or Victoria, Australia, I’m not entirely sure. If you haven’t read it, I strongly recommend it. It’s an amazing series about a group of teenagers fighting a war alone while basically everyone else in their town (and city) have been captured and put in a prison camp. I can’t say enough how incredible this series is. Read it 😀

 

Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta 

9780143000976

I believe that Saving Francesca is set in New South Wales, Australia, but I can’t be sure haha. I loved this when I read it back in high school, and I have since re-read it and listened to the audiobook a couple of times. It’s wonderful. Marchetta’s Looking For Alibrandi is also very good, but for some reason I’ve always preferred this one :).

 

Finding Cassie Crazy/The Year of The Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty 

finding cassie crazy

I think this is set in New South Wales, probably right in Sydney, but I can’t be sure. It’s another book I really enjoyed in high school. It pretty much has everything if you like stories about friendship, family, mysteries, crushes and romance. It’s a really fun read, but also has it’s serious stuff that it also very enjoyable :).

 

Five Bells by Gail Jones 

11924076

Quite obviously, Five Bells is set in Sydney, Australia. I’ve been to Sydney only once, but I was very young so I don’t remember much except eating an ice cream at the Quay and I believe that was quite nice. The novel is very character-driven and might not suit some people who want a little more plot, but I think it’s a breathtaking, poetic novel and I really, really liked it.

 

Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley 

books_graffiti-moon

Graffiti Moon is set in my home-city Melbourne, Australia. So, you know, that just adds to the awesomeness of it. Haha. I love this book a lot and it definitely didn’t hurt that it reminded me of the city I know and love, with it’s coffee shops and graffiti’d alleyways.

 

The Messenger/I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak 

The_Messenger_Au_Cover

It’s not really known where The Messenger is set, except that it’s set in a small town. Which could easily be in New South Wales or Victoria or Adelaide or Canberra, I have no idea. Whatever the case, I love this novel. It’s got great characters and an awesome plot and it’s one you should definitely be adding to your tbr :).

 

My Place by Sally Morgan 

My-Place

My Place is set in Perth, Western Australia. I loved this so much when I read it back in Primary School and I am a little ashamed to say that I don’t remember enough about it. I just remember it was an amazing story about an Aboriginal girl trying to find her place in a country so unfortunately bigoted and intolerant to others.

 

 

Loaded by Christos Tsiolkas

7a03a-6a00d83451bcff69e201675ff38645970b-pi

Loaded is set in Melbourne, Australia and is a story about Greek culture, homosexuality, racism, addiction to hard drugs and trying to fit in. It’s not an easy read. It’s vulgar and violent and full of unlikeable characters. But it’s a fascinating novel about a culture so unlike mine, not just because of the Greek heritage, but also because it’s just completely in a realm of other that I would never get myself into.

 

So, there you have it. A range of different novels set in Australia. Let me know if you’ve read any of them yourself or have now added some of them to your reading list :).

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Set in Australia

Leave a Reply

