The Dark Tower: Book Review

First of all, I have no idea how to write a review on this PHENOMENAL series of books. It’s a pretty regular occurrence for me to not really know how to start a review, but this time I’m seriously lost. How do I begin to explain how very incredible these seven books are. I can’t do it with Harry Potter properly and I don’t think I can do it with this series either. There’s just no way to write a good review here, no way at all. Stephen King’s Dark Tower series is just one of those stories that you just have to read to know what the hell everyone is going on about, to understand how amazing it is. So, I guess the second thing I can see in this review is simply, READ IT. Just do yourself a favour and read it. I promise you, you won’t look back.

Last night, with my very excited boyfriend beside me (he has been waiting a long time for me to read the whole series) I finally finished the very last book of The Dark Tower, also titled The Dark Tower. And well, that was definitely an experience. Just finishing it. I can’t even…

See, this is also the trouble. I can’t spoil anything so that makes it even harder to write a coherent review. I just want to shout out all the things that happened and KDKFKFKFKDDDKKDKDJDDKD KDMDKKDKDKDKKDKDKDKDKDKDDKKDKA!!!!!  Ahem. Sorry. I must behave myself because, after all, it’s much more fun to go into a series like this not really knowing anything about it like I did. It makes it so much more worth it.

Before The Dark Tower, I’d only read King’s first novel, Carrie. Which was a good story, but nothing all that special. If you’ve never read any King or have only read some of his stand-alone books here and there, don’t let that be telling of The Dark Tower. Because The Dark Tower is completely out of this world, it’s not even on par with any other book, let alone another Stephen King book. It’s the most epic fantasy series I’ve ever read and even though I haven’t exactly read loads, I’d bet buckets on the fact that it doesn’t really get better than this.

This much you can know: The Dark Tower is a story about the last gunslinger, Roland Deschain, who is on a journey through a crumbling world that will only end when he finally reaches the Dark Tower. That’s the basic story, but of course, the story is in no way basic. It’s so complex, full of mystery, danger, violence, humour, love, startling plot lines and best of all, some of the most unforgettable and lovable set of characters I’ve ever known in a book series.

As I was reading this series, I can’t deny that I had some grievances with certain things that happened, but by the time I read the ending, I felt that all of it made so much more sense and that it couldn’t have been more perfect. It’s so very clever, King is an absolute mastermind. I am super sad now that I’ve finished the series and really do wish I could go back and start reading it all over again, not knowing a thing about it once more.

I’ll have to leave it there or I’ll be in danger of giving everything away and we don’t want that.

I very, very strongly recommend that you go pick up the first book in this series, The Gunslinger, and start reading from the first incredible line ‘The man in black fled across the desert and the gunslinger followed’ to the very end.

5-stars

2 thoughts on “The Dark Tower: Book Review

Leave a Reply

