The Blogger Recognition Award

Hello everyone 🙂

I’ve been nominated for The Blogger Recognition Award by the lovely Makayla @ Random Reads. Her blog is awesome, so please check her out and follow her :).

Here’s what the Blogger Recognition Award is all about:

THE RULES: 

  1. Write a post to show your award
  2. Give a brief story of how your blog started
  3. Give two advice to new bloggers
  4. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  5. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

 

The Story of My Blog 

Screen Shot 2016-08-14 at 12.06.51

I started These Paper Words back in July 2014. At first, my blog was all about writing. The first few posts were musings about writing and a few poems. This was back when I was submitting a lot of short stories and poems to magazines like Voiceworks, which never got in, and I guess that made me feel a less confident about my writing and I also ran out of time to write much as I was super busy writing my massive 15,000 word thesis for my Honours year. I also was going through some personal changes in that time so I don’t think I had the energy for writing for fun. What I did have the energy for was reading a lot of books.

Around this time, I decided to take part in the 30 Day Book Challenge, which lead me into discovering how big the book blogging world was, and made me want to turn my blog into a blog about books instead.

I started taking part in a lot of Book Memes like Friday Finds, Teaser Tuesdays and writing up lengthy TRB lists. I eventually discovered the joys of writing reviews and sharing my thoughts on books, taking part in other memes like Top Ten Tuesdays and Harry Potter Moment of the Week, discovering new books to read within the blogosphere and gaining more and more followers that I love talking to. It was so enjoyable and I loved it.

Then the time finally came in May 2015 for me to go to Vietnam to volunteer with disabled children in Hanoi. There I fell in love with the boy I love more than anything, and over a year we visited each other in our respective countries, Australia and England, and made plans that led me to moving to England to live with him, where I am now :). Alongside all of that, I was also completing my Early Childhood Teaching course, reading a lot of books and spending a lot of time with my family, so I stopped blogging for a long 10 months.

I am so happy that I’ve started blogging again now that I have a lot more free time and that everything has settled down. I love blogging about books, it’s so much fun. Soon I hope I’ll start writing more and also blogging about that because I do still really love to write, and I think that now I’ve finished with my studies, I’ll have a lot more energy for it. My blog is special to me and I love to blog in my free time. So I’m very thankful that I have it, and that I have all of you followers who actually read my posts and share the same interests I do :).

 

Advice to New Bloggers

 

1) LOVE WHAT YOU BLOG ABOUT

When you’re blogging, it’s so important to enjoy what you’re blogging about and why. Don’t blog about something just for the sake of it or because it’s popular. Definitely don’t blog if you feel pressured to or if it makes you feel stressed. Blogging is meant to be fun, not stressful and tiring. Blog for the fun of it. Post about things that are important to you, that you love. My blog is about books because I love them and  I write about the books I’ve read or that I’m interested in. I love my blog because it’s me, not somebody else. It makes me happy and otherwise what would be the point?

1479476_253421978146158_529565377_n

2) REACH OUT TO OTHER BLOGGERS

Having a blog isn’t just about blogging on your own blog. It’s also about community and reaching out to other bloggers that share the same interests you do. Take the time to make comments on other blogger’s posts or like their posts. Take the time to discover new blogs and follow them. People will appreciate you taking an interest in them and it will add to the enjoyment you take out of having a blog and being a blogger :).

tumblr_mkwtpjqiGR1s4aup8o1_500

Those two pieces of advice are kind of obvious, but I do think they’re important ones :).

So, I’ve had a lot of fun with this post today! Thanks again to Makayla for nominating me, really appreciate it :).

Here are the 15 blogs I nominate for this award (apologies if you’ve already been nominated):

Lynn @ Lynn’s Books 

Zoe @ The Word Wanderer 

Ola @ Ola Reads Books

Dianna @ A Haven For Book Lovers

Sara @ Freedom Library 

Giovanna @ Book Comma 

Alyssa @ Under Review 

Krysta @ Pages Unbound

Caffeinatious

Kirsty @ Kirsty And the Cat Read

Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions

Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts

Tina @ Bookish Wanderings

Kayleigh @ Miserable and Magical 

Tanaya  @ Pretty Pages

Josie & John @ Our Summary 

And that’s it from me! Check out these blogs and have fun blogging!

meme-26

8 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Thanks for the nomination. I really like the advise for new bloggers. I wish I had taken that advise years ago when I started blogging but I only started following it this year when I started book blogging and getting to know other bloggers. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

