Traveling Thursdays: A Book For Book Lovers Everywhere

IMG_20160804_153518

Book Traveling Thursday is an awesome weekly event held by Danielle and Catia over on Goodreads. There’s a new topic every week and the deal is to share why you chose the book and four different covers of the book: The Original Cover, Your Countries Cover, Your Least Favourite and Your Favourite :).

Topic this week: National Book Lovers Day was two days ago… choose a book you think every book lover should read.

The book I chose:

The Shadow of the Wind (2001) by Carlos Ruiz Zafon 

Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s The Shadow of the Wind is an amazing book about the love of books, the power of books, the forgotten books. It’s a gothic mystery set in Barcelona, centred around a boy named Daniel whose father takes him to the Cemetery of Lost Books and tells him to take just one book home. This book takes Daniel into to a whole new world of danger, love and the truth. It’s an incredible story and I really do think that everyone who loves books should read this. It’s translated from Spanish and it really is the best translation I’ve ever read. It’s a magical, harrowing, fascinating, unputdownable book and I guarantee that you will fall in love with it as much as I did.

 

Original Cover:

10311081cimg3176

It was difficult to find the exact original cover or a good copy of it, but these are pretty much what the Spanish first editions look like 🙂

My Countries Edition (Australia):

6068563

This is also the copy I own 🙂 Hehe. I like it a lot, so it could also belong with my favourite covers below :).

Least Favourite: 

shadow-of-the-wind

I just don’t think this Penguin edition is nearly as nice as all the others.

Favourites:

 

     These are all so gorgeous, I just couldn’t decide which one was my favourite so had to show all of them :D.

3 thoughts on “Traveling Thursdays: A Book For Book Lovers Everywhere

  1. This remains one of my favourite books of all time. I love the multi-layered story, the cemetery of books, everything was just perfect including the setting. Great choice and all covers look good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

