Friday Finds

IMG_0363

Friday Finds is a weekly event hosted by A Daily Rhythm 🙂

I’ve recently found so many books on Goodreads that I so desperately want to read it’s insane. Oh, I love how excited books make me! I just hope I’ll eventually be able to get ahold of some of these in one way or another! Here are four of the 10030303 books I’ve added to my Want To Read list recently 🙂

 

Denton’s Little Deathdate by Lance Rubin 

denton-littles-deathdate-9781471124235_hr

Summary:

Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle—as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend’s hostile sister. (Though he’s not totally sure—see, first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton’s long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters. . . . Suddenly Denton’s life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers. 

 

Why I want to read it:

I sort of stopped reading the Goodreads blurbs on this book after Lance Rubin was compared to John Green and all (I love John Green but I don’t want my expectations for this novel to be too high or know much more about such comparisons), but I read enough to get interested and find out that it’s an hilarious and clever YA novel. I’m really looking forward to reading this one :).

 

 

As Stars Fall by Christie Nieman 

asstarsfc

Summary:

A bush fire, and its aftermath, links a Bush-Stone curlew and three teenagers experiencing loss, love and change.

The fire was fast and hot … only days after it went through, there were absolutely no birds left. I should have seen it as an omen, the birds all leaving like that.

Robin is a self-confessed bird-nerd from the country, living in the city. On the first day at her new school, she meets Delia. Delia is freaky and definitely not good for Robin’s image.

Seth, Delia’s brother, has given up school to prowl the city streets. He is angry at everything, especially the fire that killed his mother.

When a rare and endangered bird turns up in the city parklands, the lives of Robin, Seth and Delia become fatefully and dangerously intertwined …

 

Why I want to read it:

I really love discovering new Australian novels and authors, and not only that, the plot of the novel, particularly the bush fire theme, is something, as an Australian, I can really relate to. It sounds like a really thoughtful and promising story and I’m really interested to check it out one of these days.

 

 

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera 

bfa24d80-f5ef-0133-f19f-0aacbc4f5d01

Summary:

OCD-afflicted Griffin has just lost his first love, Theo, in a drowning accident. In an attempt to hold onto every piece of the past, he forges a friendship with Theo’s last boyfriend, Jackson. When Jackson begins to exhibit signs of guilt, Griffin suspects he’s hiding something, and will stop at nothing to get to the truth about Theo’s death. But as the grieving pair grows closer, readers will question Griffin’s own version of the truth both in terms of what he’s willing to hide and what true love means.

 

Why I want to read it:

I loved Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not so I was very happy to see that he’s written this. It sounds so heartbreaking and I am definitely a reader who loves the sad-romantic sorts of novels haha. Have to wait quite awhile to read this one as it doesn’t come out until next year, but it will definitely be worth the wait, at least I hope so!

 

 

Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

https-%2F%2Fblueprint-api-production.s3.amazonaws.com%2Fuploads%2Fcard%2Fimage%2F80840%2FHOLDING_UP_THE_UNIVERSE_by_Jennifer_Niven_Cover

Summary:

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for EVERY POSSIBILITY LIFE HAS TO OFFER. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything in new and bad-ass ways, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game—which lands them in group counseling and community service—Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. . . . Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

 

Why I want to read it:

WHY WOULDN’T I?? IT’S JENNIFER NIVEN!! Haha. Seriously, I came across this by accident, as I do with most books I ever read tbh, and well, I was so, so excited as I had no idea that she was even writing another book. I loved All The Bright Places to pieces and I am so intrigued by this book, not just because of ATBP, but also because it sounds really good, just the kind of the YA romance story I’d happily enjoy any day 🙂

 

Wowie, I am super excited by each of these four books. Can’t wait to read them!!

What books have you discovered lately that you’d love to read?

3 thoughts on “Friday Finds

Leave a Reply

