Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Feel Differently About

IMG_0736

Top 5 Wednesday is held hosted by mods Lainey and Samantha over on goodreads  🙂

This was a hard top 5 to do, really. Took me ages to think of the right books… and I can tell you one thing, one of these books I really didn’t want to have on my list but ehh, couldn’t not I suppose, as it is one of the novels that I’ve had the most drastic change on haha. Anyway, here they are… 🙂

 

1. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad 

15

I majored in English, therefore over my four years at university I did a lot of English/Literature subjects and I had this little classic on my course reading list twice, from what I remember. The first time, even though it’s only a short novel, I couldn’t read it because I found it, well, dull. But, by the time it turned up again a couple years later, I decided I should try to read it this time. And I did enjoy it more than I’d ever expected to, it’s a very powerful and important book so I’m glad that I gave it a second chance :).

 

2. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

hush-hush

Okay, so this is one of those situations where I started a series and really liked it at first, but as the next books came out, I tried reading them and found that I was just no longer interested. I’ve read the first two (I think) of the Hush, Hush series and even though my sister told me I should read the others, I couldn’t bring myself to read more than a page or even open the pages of them. There are so, so many series that I’ve never finished reading because of losing interest in them!

 

3. Looking For Alaska by John Green 

41r-sKjJ61L

The first time I read this, I loved it. The second time I read it, I loved it a lot less. Which probably makes sense, because when you know what happens in a story like this one, it doesn’t really impact you as much. I still like the book, but I can remember being kind of disappointed the second time through (which was something like a year after reading it the first time), and I’m not entirely sure why. I guess I hoped by reading it again I might notice things I didn’t before, but that didn’t really happen 😛

 

 

4.  The Twilight Saga by that lady (oh right, Stephanie Meyer).

4690399_orig

Yes Yes… I can safely say that, I, like many of you out there, have been here. Back in the day, I quite enjoyed reading these books. There you are, I’ll admit it, which is fairly hard to do, as I’d rather forget that I ever even read this tosh. The damn romance and drama of it all drew me in for a month or whatever it was when I didn’t do much else but read all four books and crush over Jacob for whatever reason (well, I certainly wasn’t digging Edmund…ah I mean Edward, you know the diamond vampire whatever his name is, or Bella herself, so there had to be some reason why I liked reading the novels, and yep it was cause of the underdog/wolf, of course). So, by the last book with all the weird pregnancy and all that, I was really starting to think ‘okay, what exactly am I doing reading this?’ It was almost like 10 minutes ago I’d thought it was good, and then I suddenly realised how so not good it was. I still went to see all the movies, but by that point, especially by the time Eclipse and the two-parted mess that was Breaking Dawn came out, I was only doing it to take my sister and make her happy. Ah, Twilight, my biggest book blunder.

 

5. The Gunslinger/The Dark Tower Series by Stephen King 

51bygq6FSkL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Right. So, three years ago or so I was told to read The Gunslinger, the first of The Dark Tower books and I read a couple of chapters or so and wasn’t very interested in it at all, never picked it back up again. How silly I was! I guess at the time I just wasn’t ready for The Dark Tower :P. Since the end of last year, thanks to my darling boyfriend who more than convinced me to at least read the first two and see how I went from there, I’ve been reading the series and I love it so much. I just started reading the very last one of the series and I’m so freaking out about finding out how it all ends!!!

 

Afterthoughts:

I suppose what this list clearly shows is that in my reading years, as much as I’ve enjoyed an enormous amount of YA novels that I no longer would today, my tastes have gradually changed and I’ve become more open to a range of different kinds of novels that at some stage I would never have read. I still love YA, but I’m definitely more and more keen to read other kinds of novels and branch out more, evidently :).

Also, I like how all the covers ended up being black and white, with some red and yellow. Unintentional at its best 😀

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Feel Differently About

  1. Hahaha, your moment of realization that Twilight wasn’t very good was really funny to read.
    I think it’s a great thing that our tastes change. If not, we wouldn’t branch out like you have into all of these wonderful books that we never would have read otherwise 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha glad you thought so 😂
      Very true, I’m so glad that it does happen that way, can’t imagine what it would be like not knowing how amazing certain books I wouldn’t have read once are!!
      Thanks for the comment 😁 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

