Top 5 Wednesday: Unlikeable Characters

IMG_0736

 

An event hosted by Lainey over on goodreads  🙂

I’m a little late on this one due to a couple days of unexpected work in a Nursery here in England, but eh thought I would still make the post 😀 I had to think quite hard about this, it wasn’t an easy top 5 to come up with! Well, except for the first one, though I do think that’s a super obvious choice and not one that required much brain power.

 

1. Bella Swan from Twilight Saga by whatshername

nrm_1414324971-bella-swan-motivational-critical-analysis-of-twilight-16186118-574-650

 

Snore. That’s about all I have to say on that.

 

2. Clay Jenson from Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

clay_jensen_by_menakaren-d30qdf2

My boyfriend and I read this together as part of our nerdy little couple book club (haha), and while I did enjoy parts of the novel and thought it gave a good message, I found Clay very annoying and just couldn’t connect with him in any way. He didn’t really develop, seemed extremely self-involved and obnoxious and just didn’t respond to Hannah’s tape in ways that made sense to me. I don’t know, maybe he was meant to be that way to make Hannah the likeable main character, but whatever the case, he was just very unlikeable to me, a character I basically felt nothing for in all.

 

3. Kristen Lattimer from None of the Above by I.W Gregorio

NoneoftheAbove_Cover

I did quite enjoy this story about a girl who finds out she’s intersex. It’s an important story to tell and I thought the plot of it was well put together and sensitive to the realities that come along with being intersex, such as identity, gender and social issues. So, this is definitely a book worth reading. But, I just didn’t like Kristen. Sure, I emphasised with what she was going through in dealing with her new identity and everything else in her life, but I just couldn’t connect to her on a personal level. I found her incredibly childish and frustrating for a number of reasons that I can’t really get into without spoiling the plot…and she was a major whiner :P.

 

4. Scott Kilpatrick from Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

niisyf1_5728f1372a6b22a927ea8556

It’s sort of difficult to explain why I didn’t like Scott, really. Maybe it was because I liked Parker so much that Scott just seemed to be a bit of  a meh character. He’s a side character, too, and I felt like I didn’t get to know him very well in the book, as he wasn’t really in it all that much, except more towards the end of the novel. I could understand why he behaved the way he did, what with his and Parker’s history, sure. But, I don’t know, I just didn’t really care for him. He seemed kind of like a nothing character. Which is a shame, cause he could’ve been a really good character.

 

5. Cara Sweeney from Alienated by Melissa Landers

alienated1

Okay, so, it’s kind of easy to say that I didn’t really like Cara largely because I also didn’t really like this book haha. It had an okay concept and was a story that was entertaining enough at the time, but nothing wonderful.  I’m afraid, as you can see with a lot of the characters on this list, namely the female ones, that there are too many YA novels out there that have female leads I just don’t connect with – they always seem so… “plastic.” I guess that’s the only word I can think of. They seem like a blank page. I don’t know how that’s meant to be relatable, but it’s sure not working for me. Whatever it is that makes me all SNORE about these kinds of characters is what Cara is all about. Though, I can’t say that her co-main character Aelyx was any better!

 

Well that’s it from me 🙂 What are your Top 5 Unlikeable Characters?

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Unlikeable Characters

    1. Hahaha. Yep that’s me being funny and also genuinely unable to remember her name, still can’t! 😂
      13rw is definitely worth reading, and it’s quite possible you won’t mind Clay, for example I didn’t like him but he didn’t bother me as much as he did my boyfriend lol. I think Clay is one of those characters that people either like or don’t really . Hope you enjoy reading it. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Ill check out yours!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

