More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera: Book Review

19542841

Sometimes before I start reading a book I tend to predict what’s likely to happen based on the blurb (which can, I note, often be misleading). And after I’ve read the book and I’ve found that I was right I’m either happy or disappointed or maybe a mixture of both.

Before reading Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not, I had quite a few ideas about what I thought would probably happen. If it were to take on a typical, hollywood-esque story line. And let me tell you, my silly little predictions were entirely wrong. Which I loved!

This book is one of those books that are hard to review because I can’t say anything that might give away the plot. Because boy are there some wonderful and surprising twists, and well, I don’t want to ruin that for anyone planning to read this book.

What I can say is that I liked this book a hell of a lot. I didn’t like it at first as much as I did about half-way through, because I guess for some reason it took me a little to settle into Silvera’s writing style and connect with the main character Aaron. Once you know the whole story, it totally made sense why things seemed a little off/fake in the story to begin with.

What’s great about More Happy Than Not is that it has a wonderful balance of humour and heartbreak. Which isn’t easy to do. It’s not every day that a book can make you smile and also make you feel like cry basically at the same time. I certainly felt a lot of mixed emotions when I reached the end. It was mind-blowing.

The characters are complex and wonderful, the whole Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind-ness about it was just brilliant, and it was all together an incredibly well-plotted and clever novel that I will never forget. 

8 thoughts on “More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera: Book Review

Leave a Reply

