Reading slump/books I’ve been reading/mini review of The Night We Said Yes

Okay, so I’m in a bit of a reading slump currently. I’ve only managed to read two books in the last month since I returned from Vietnam, when usually I would have read at least five. Of course, there are a few reasons for this, such as starting my course at uni and being continuously distracted by a certain someone who makes me so incredibly happy that I feel like I am in fact living a wonderful story that is just simply better than all the other stories out there!

I have also been a bit slack with my blogging, such as with Top Ten Tuesday, Top  5 Wednesday and reviews, so apologies for that. It’s been a crazy time.

I am currently “reading” four books and by “currently” I mean that I’ve started them all and haven’t got further than 100 pages for each. Here they are:

51wu55a3QDL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I started reading this for the Reading Challenge and the non-fiction category, but I’ve only managed to read the first section. Which I did find quite fascinating and weird, because I think that pretty much sums up Lena Dunham. Some specific parts were even quite disturbing. Unfortunately, I have to return this to the library in a couple of days as someone else has requested it so it’s unlikely I’ll read the rest or even re-borrow it. Not much of a loss, just one book category in the Reading Challenge I won’t be ticking off.

41hF-y+R2zL

Everyone here knows I love Watership Down and I’ve really enjoyed what I have read of this cute little sequel. The stories so far are more childlike, more like story-time stories, which I do like, but is probably also why my eyes haven’t been glued to the pages. I am going to finish this one though! It’s just more likely to be a book I read slowly.

23399267

Will Walton’s Anything Could Happen is one of those books I’ve been looking forward to reading ever since I found out about it, but quite unfortunately it has so far disappointed me. There are quite a few reasons why this is: I don’t like Tretch’s name, there’s far too much love of Taylor Swift and Twilight, Matt is a doofus (though I guess cute enough) and the dialogue is just not convincing…everyone talks like they’re high and often about nothing very interesting. Okay, but in saying that (I really don’t like to be mean about books cause I know how much work goes into them) there have been some lovely words and sentences and I do believe the heartache Tretch is going through in his unrequited love with Matt. So, I am willing to give this book another try and see where it goes.

19542841

I am so unbelievably excited to be reading this. I have nothing bad to say about it yet, I just unfortunately haven’t had the time to read much of it yet! But it definitely seems promising so far. Aaron is a great character and I’m interested to know what happens in his story. Of course, it really helps that this book has quite an awesome connection with one of my favourite movies Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind! :).

And, as I probably won’t get around to writing a review on it alone, this is the other book that I read last month, with a little mini review:

Untitled-4

This was a rather cute little romance tale set around a group of four friends and this specific night where Ella met Matt, in which they all said ‘yes’. The book is entirely set on that one day, except half of it is looking back on the day and the other half in the present, if that makes sense eh. It was a nice, entertaining love story, with a fair bit of angst and drama, though I’m not entirely sure if some of it was convincing enough. Nothing specifically mind-blowing or life-changing, but definitely a little book one could read and enjoy when in need, and well, it has a couple of squeal-worthy moments any girl would enjoy.

Okay, that’s it from me for now. Actually have to study now. And then I’ll actually do some reading rather than just think about it :D.

2 thoughts on “Reading slump/books I’ve been reading/mini review of The Night We Said Yes

Leave a Reply

