Top Ten Books Which Feature Characters Who Read Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event held by The Broke and the Bookish.

At first I had absolutely no clue what I was going to do for this Top 10. I wanted to make it awesome because this will be the second last Top Ten Tuesday I’ll be posting before I go to Vietnam! (10 days omg!). I decided to go with Characters Who Read Books because I personally love it when characters talk about books or reference particular books I know of or that I’ve read. This doesn’t necessarily mean they read during the book itself, just that they are readers like me. (Apologies again if I seem like a broken record, because I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned most of these books a numerous amount of times, or at least once before…)

1. Cath in Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

71dNNEvJygL._SL1500_

Okay, an obvious choice. Even if Cath is reading a book that, at the time, wasn’t a real book (but it will be soon when Carry On is finally released!). Whatever the case, Cath is the perfect example of a book fan in which the book becomes their whole world.

2. Charlie in Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey 

resized_9781742372624_224_297_FitSquare

You all should know by love for Charlie, Jasper Jones and Craig Silvey. One thing I loved about Charlie is that he reads and wants to be a writer. I mean. Every human who does is near perfect in my eyes.

3. Hermione Granger in Harry Potter by J.K Rowling 

hermione-mt

I love that Hermione loves to read. It’s one of my favourite things about her. She is just the type of female character that I’ve always been able to relate to and look up to.

4. Charlie in The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky 

tumblr_m4dap3Q5R01qgl2vw

Another wonderful character who loves to read going by the name of Charlie. I love that Charlie’s english teacher gives him extra books to read. I can’t even remember what books they were at the moment, but I’ve always thought I should read them, too. I mean, I went as far to get every song mentioned in this book and I really should do the same with the books.

5. Oscar in The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz 

the-brief-wondrous-life-of-oscar-wao

Oscar is portrayed as a major geek who, when he isn’t watching films or playing video games, loves to read. He reads a lot of science fiction, classics and fantasy. Unless I’m totally wrong and just making it up, I’m pretty sure his favourite book is The Lord of the Rings.

6. Thursday in Thursday Next Series by Jasper Fforde 

51V90WHNMVL

It’s not only Thursday that reads in this epic series in which literature has taken the world by storm. The characters not only read books, but actually go into books such as Jane Eyre. It’s brilliant. Granted, I’ve only read the first book, but I’m hanging on to read the rest.

7. Matilda in Matilda by Roald Dahl

61K2r4blw5L

Obviously, I have to pick Matilda, the fictional character who I’m pretty sure read more books than any of us by the time she was 10.

8. Alaska in Looking for Alaska by John Green 

Looking_for_Alaska_original_cover

I’m not anything like Alaska and I remember finding it hard to relate to her when I read Looking For Alaska. But I did love that her room was full of books and that she was always reading and always quoting from books.

9. Simon in Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli 

10015384

It could arguably be true that Simon is more of a music guy, but he does love Harry Potter and there are numerous references to HP in the book. Plus, Simon also admits to reading fanfiction :).

10. Violet and Finch in All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven 

9780141357034

I’m half-way through reading this wonderful book and one thing I’ve loved about it is the fact that Theo/Finch and Violet read and are interested in words. Violet was once more of a writer than a reader, and Finch takes quotes and words from books and sticks them on his wall. Wonderful.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Which Feature Characters Who Read Books

Leave a Reply

