Top Five Wednesday: Books That Feature Traveling

IMG_0736

Top 5 Wednesday is held by Lainey on goodreads.

I missed out on posting last week because I couldn’t think of 5 Frustrating Characters. And I’m having trouble this week thinking of novels I’ve loved that involve travelling. So, maybe I’m bending the technicalities a little in the following – the books I’ve chosen might not count too much as “travelling.” At least not in the way the exotic way. These are books that take place in more than one place or where the characters are “travelling” through/to various landscapes, whether to a different part of the country or overseas. The more I thought of it that way, the more books I kept thinking of. But I narrowed it down to these:

1. Isla and the Happily Ever After (and prequels) by Stephanie Perkins

Okay. This might seem like an odd choice to you, but I chose the third of the Anna/Lola/Isla series because it’s set in America and France. Anna is as well (though Lola is only set in America, I think), but it’s more so in Isla. Arguably not relevant enough for this topic, but I beg to differ. The girls do travel overseas, therefore this is a book that involves travelling :).

2. Paper Towns by John Green

bands-books-paper-towns

Just had to chose a road trip novel for this and of course it had to be this book. I can’t help it. I know I’m always going on about Paper Towns, but I just couldn’t ignore the fact that I absolutely love the road trip section in the novel. It’s extremely entertaining and hilarious. There are other elements of Paper Towns that involve travelling too, but I chose it purely because of Quentin and co’s road trip.

3. The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness

tumblr_m6qg4udu2j1qjr09w

There’s not a whole lot of “travelling” in Chas Walking, I guess, but it’s a dystopian fantasy in which people are escaping earth and going on an epic journey to a new planet. We don’t actually get to see much of this space travel in the novel itself, but still, that’s the background story to how Todd and Viola and every one else end up on Spackle country.

4. The Road by Cormac McCarthy

9780307387899_p0_v3_s260x420

The plot of The Road sees a father and son walking through an post-apocalyptic wasteland/the desolate remains of America, the American Dream forever lost. It’s a wonderfully rich, poetic and complex novel and also very dark and sad.

5. Watership Down by Richard Adams

watership-down-richard-adams-06

Yes, I know. Once again, I sound like a broken record. But I cannot stress how important Watership Down is to me and how much I really believe everyone should read it. I chose Watership Down for this TOP FIVE because it’s something different. Essentially, it’s about rabbits leaving their home and embarking on a journey across miles of dangerous fields and forests. For the majority of the book, Hazel and his friends are travelling on foot, trying to find their new home. It might not seem like much of a distance to us humans, but it’s a long way for rabbits.

Leave a Reply

