Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favourite Authors

top ten tuesday The brilliant weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. There are so many authors out there that I love. And endless amount! But, these are first ten that came to mind. These authors have bought me so many of my favourite stories and they have inspired me and influenced me in my dream to be a writer and to read as many books as possible. Of course, once I wrote down the top 10, I had to add a few Honorable Mentions that came to me straight after :).

1. John Marsden

508914-5130eb20-4f83-11e4-bf47-e615db9af88e

John Marsden is a writer and teacher from Melbourne, Australia. His books include The Tomorrow Series, Letter From the Inside and So Much To Tell You. I have his autograph and have always wanted to lead a life like his.

2. J.K Rowling

jk_2617100b

J.K Rowling doesn’t need me to write a mini bio for her. She’s just a genius, whether writing under her own name or under Robert Galbraith. Without her my childhood, and so many others, would never have been the same.

3. Jandy Nelson

AVT_Jandy-Nelson_4043

Jandy Nelson is an American YA novelist. She is best known for her poetic and beautiful way with words. Her two novels are The Sky Is Everywhere and I’ll Give You The Sun. Must reads!

4. Rainbow Rowell

1401231825000-XXX-DSF6987

Over the last few years, Rainbow Rowell has been charming teens and adults with her romantic, angsty and hilarious books: Attachments, Eleanor & Park, Landline and Fangirl. Just too good to miss!

5. John Green

John Green Author of The Fault in Our Stars

John Green is pretty much a household name when it comes to YA novels. He has a certain way with dealing with teenage problems and ripping our hearts out in the process. He’s best known for The Fault in Our Stars, but my favourite will always be Paper Towns.

6. Craig Silvey

Craig-Silvey-photo-by-Andy-Shedden

Before I saying anything else, yeah, Craig Silvey is definitely my author crush. Not only is he incredibly easy on the eyes, his writing style is breathtaking and wonderful. He is best known for his novel Jasper Jones. I really need to read more. And meet him (so jealous of you Josie haha).

7. Jeffrey Eugenides

jeffrey-eugenides

Jeffrey Eugenides is an American author best known for his books The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex. In my opinion he is an epic literary genius.

8. Richard Adams

article-2072213-0F1E974C00000578-134_468x299

The brilliant man who introduced us to a wonderfully complex tale about rabbits with his beautiful novel Watership Down, which is my probably my favourite novel and a comfort for me in so many ways. I can’t help but feel so much gratitude for Richard Adams.

9. Gail Jones

649923-gail-jones

Despite spending a whole often-frustrating year analysing Gail Jones and her novel Dreams of Speaking, she will always be one of my favourite authors and that will always be one of my favourite novels. She taught me a lot and Dreams of Speaking was there for me when life was crap for awhile. if it wasn’t for her words, I probably would never have finished writing my thesis or reach the result I ended up with.

10. Patrick Ness

11-Scribblers_Cardiff

Patrick Ness is a novelist/journalist/lecturer and lives in London. His novels A Monster Calls, More Than This and The Chaos Walking Trilogy are wonderfully original and magical books and I’d read them again and again.

Honorable Mentions:

11. J.R.R Tolkien

12. David Levithan

13. Paul Jennings

14. Haruki Murakami

15. Stephanie Perkins

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favourite Authors

  1. Ah yes, Craig Silvey! It was awesome meeting him. Good on the eyes, great writer and an awesome person! Hope you get to meet him someday! I also love John Green and so glad to see someone has put an honorable mention for J.R.R Tolkien!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

