The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith/J.K Rowling: Book Review

url 200px-CuckoosCallingCover

The Cuckoo’s Calling by J. K Rowling (writing as Robert Galbraith) is an extremely entertaining, well-executed and wonderful crime novel. I enjoyed it so much more than I expected to. Not because I didn’t think Rowling could pull of a crime novel, but because I haven’t read a lot of crime novels myself. But now I kind of have a bit of a hunger for them. I really wouldn’t mind getting right into reading some of the classics, that’s for sure.

What I liked most about The Cuckoo’s Calling is Cormoran Strike himself. He’s just such a great character. I kind of imagined him a bit like Hagrid, except not half-giant sized and with less hair around the head area. Of course, he doesn’t have a personality like Hagrid, that’s just kind of how I imagined his appearance. I’m not sure how to explain it exactly, but Strike is just so likeable! It’s easy to be on his side and to want him to show everyone just how smart he is at reading other people, no matter how much his own life has fallen to pieces around him.

I also really liked Robin, Strike’s temporary receptionist. She is a really nice and surprising supporting female character and her part in the book works as a nice turnover from Strike’s perspectives.

Of course, Rowling’s writing style is brilliant. So different to Harry Potter, but also similar in some ways. There’s a lot more grit and adult themes/language, which I enjoyed a lot.

The plot itself is pretty great. Thoroughly entertaining and mysterious. There are so many characters and possible suspects, I had no idea who might have killed Lulu Landry. While I liked the ending, I think I enjoyed the build up more, if that makes sense. It was great to have the whole mystery resolved and for everything to finally come together, but I think what I most enjoyed was Strike’s process in discovering the truth of Lula’s death. In all, I found The Cuckoo’s Calling a really exciting page turner and I’m beyond keen to read the sequel.

5 thoughts on “The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith/J.K Rowling: Book Review

  1. I’m kinda hesitant reading this cause I didn’t like her other non-HP book The Casual Vacancy. But because of this, I’m giving it a try! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 yeah I wasn’t sure if I would like it either, but I really did. Rowling did a good job! I still haven’t read The Casual Vacancy, not sure about that one. Cormoran Strike is awesome though 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

