Top 5 Wednesday: Worst series enders

IMG_0736

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme held here by Lainey on goodreads.

The topic this week was a hard one for me, because if I like a series I generally like the ending. Also, I really haven’t read enough series or finished enough series that I started. Therefore my choices are either Worst Series (meanings series I remember liking but now can’t see how I ever did) or just chosen because I didn’t love the ending as much as I could have. Oh, whatever. Here goes:

1. Breaking Dawn (Twilight Saga #4) by Stephanie Perkins

Breaking_Dawn_cover

There was a time when I liked the Twilight saga and consumed the books in mere days. At this point in my life I have no idea how I ever liked the series, but I do remember I didn’t like the last book. I can’t even remember how it ended, really, which means it probably wasn’t very memorable.

2. Beautiful Redemption (Caster Chronicles #4) by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Book-cover-beautiful-redemption_510

I adored The Caster Chronicles when the came out and bought them all. I especially liked the first book and the last one was pretty good. But there are some things I still don’t like about the last book and the ending. I won’t give it away, of course, so I can’t explain that, but I don’t know. It was good, but it wasn’t as good as it could have been.

3. City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare

COHF_cover

Another series I was obsessed with when it first came out. I remember reading and buying the first two books in a few days and waiting anxiously for the rest to come out. Of course, by the time the last book came out, I’d kind of grown out of the series. But I read it anyway and I liked the last book. Parts of it I even loved. Parts of the ending I hated. You know, I’m a bit confused as to whether I liked how it ended or not. At least it wasn’t predictable, I’ll give it that!

4. Afterlife (Evernight series #4) by Claudia Gray

6619499

I’m simply putting this in the list because it’s a series I remember liking once, but looking back I have no idea why. Like with Twilight, I can’t even remember the ending of the last book, so it can’t have been that good.

5. Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking Series #3) by Patrick Ness

monster

First, don’t get me wrong. I love this series beyond words. Chaos Walking is one of my favourite series of all time. Patrick Ness is a genius. However, I have a love-hate relationship with the ending. One part of my loves an ending that’s not clearly resolved. Another part of me hates not knowing the outcome. The ending of Chaos Walking is one of those endings that made me hungry for more, but alas, there is no more! 😥

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Worst series enders

Leave a Reply

