Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Made You Think

IMG_0736

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme held here by Lainey on goodreads.

I really should make it Top 5 Friday for me by the time I actually get around to posting mine. Oh well!

The books I’ve chosen for this weeks Book That Made You Think were hard to chose because there are so many books I’ve read that made me think for different reasons and I couldn’t decide on 5 at first. But here goes:

1. Vurt by Jeff Noon

Vurt_JeffNoon_UPCover

Vurt is a fascinating novel. The whole scope of the world its based in, an alternative reality in which narcotics called Vurt feathers are the in-thing, is just so original and creative. This novel literally blew my mind. It was definitely one of my favourite novels I read at uni because it’s just so different. Hardcore might even be a word for it.

2. Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey 

9781742372624

Jasper Jones is one of my favourite novels of all time. It’s a beautiful novel about friendship, death, family, the truth and the racist tendencies of a small outback town in Australia. The main character Charlie is curious and determined to the right thing by Jasper Jones, a boy of mixed-race who is outcast by the town. It’s just an incredibly powerful novel. You can read my review here.

3. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides 

the-virgin-suicides

The Virgin Suicides is a remarkable novel that centres around the Lisbon Girls, who are basically barred from a normal life because of their religious parents. Its hard to describe exactly how this book made me think. You should just read it for yourself, there is so much in this novel to think about. Read my review here.

4. Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones 

n153926

As I spent a lot of time last year writing a thesis on this novel, it seemed prudent not to include it. Dreams of Speaking  is a fascinating novel and I think if I were to write another thesis on it, I’d have no trouble with it. There’s just so much in it about modern technology, memory, culture, history… I could go on. An incredible novel that deserves to be read more than it has.

5. We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

we-need-to-talk-about-kevin

And of course I had to put We Need To Talk About Kevin on this list because I only recently finished it and its still on my mind. It was definitely a challenge to read with the main plot being so disturbing and horrifying. It’s a complex examination of nurture versus nature, of motherhood, of violence, of identity, of a boys desire for his mothers attention and love to the point that he becomes a psycho. I definitely recommend reading it, even if you’re a bit squeamish over the topic. Read my review here.

Well that’s it from me today. What books have made you think?

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Made You Think

Leave a Reply

