Top Ten Tuesday: Books For Readers Who Like Books That Make Them Laugh

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I had no idea what to do for this week and the theme ‘Books for Readers Who Like ––’ and of course that means I ended up coming up with something as obvious and unoriginal as this:

Ten Books For Readers Who Like Books That Make Them Laugh.

I don’t know of any reader or person who doesn’t like things that are funny, so my Top 10 might be a little dumb. But still, wit is an important part of the reading experience and these are some of the books – they all happen to be realistic/YA fiction – I’ve found funny over the years and ones that I think, if you have the same sense of humour as I do, you will find funny, too. Of course, there’s a lot more to these books than just being funny (for example some of these books made me cry) and that makes the funny parts all the better. I sincerely recommend all of these novels if you not only want to experience a fantastic novel, but also want laugh out loud (probably good not to read these in public).

1. I Am The Messenger (or The Messenger) by Markus Zusak

The_Messenger_Au_Cover

2. The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

the-brief-wondrous-life-of-oscar-wao

3. Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes

web-1413405

4. Submarine by Joe Dunthorne 

2473454

5. Solitaire by Alice Oseman

solitaire

6. Paper Towns by John Green

images

7. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizini

Funny_Story_front

8. Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde

84878_original

9. Finding Cassie Crazy (or The Year of the Secret Assignments) by Jaclyn Moriarty 

Cassie

10. The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler 

TEMBAOBRT

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books For Readers Who Like Books That Make Them Laugh

  1. Oh, I like this theme! Books that make me laugh are some of the best! I haven’t read any of these so far, so I think I’ll have to check a few of them out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome, glad to see “The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” get some love. There is a nice balance of humor and underlying sadness in this one. I often find myself in the minority, defending this novel against all the negative flak.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Oscar Wao! Always nice to hear that other people liked it. I don’t know anyone whose read it or liked it. But it really deserves to be read. Truly a brilliant novel and yes, definitely a great balance of humour and sorrow – man, now I feel re-reading it. One a kind, that’s for sure. Thanks for commenting 🙂 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks 🙂 Haah yes funniness is fun. John Green is great. His characters are so deep and witty. An Abundance of Katherines might have been a better choice for this topic because it’s probably his funniest book, but I’ve got a soft spot for Paper Towns 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

