Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’d Save In A Fire

IMG_0736

So, I’m a little late getting on this train and I’ll probably be late making the post each week, but I just couldn’t resist joining in after seeing Top 5 Wednesday on Josie’s blog. This meme is hosted by Lainey on goodreads and you can read the topics for March here. By the way, the image I used is a picture of my reading corner in my bedroom 🙂

This weeks topic Books I’d Save in a Fire is so cruel! I hate the idea of all my books going up in flames. I seriously feel like crying just thinking about it. It was difficult, but I managed to get my list down from 100 plus books to a mere Top 5. Gah. Here they are:

1. Watership Down by Richard Adams

IMG_0725

Watership Down is probably my favourite novel ever and my copy of Watership Down is really special to me and I simply just would hate to part with it.

2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K Rowling

IMG_0732

If I could I’d save the whole Harry Potter series, but alas, in this hypothetical fire, I cannot. So, I chose the final book for a few reasons. 1) It’s the end of the series, the very last book, it’s important to me. 2) I love the book, it’s definitely one of my favourites of the whole series. 3) It’s a First Edition and it’s basically the only First Edition I have that hasn’t been ripped or torn or destroyed by my siblings. Of all my HP books, its in the best condition. Pretty much the only reason why I wouldn’t save my copy of The Goblet of Fire, for example, which no longer has a spin. 4) I love the front cover. 5) It’s simply just a treasure of mine.

3. Tomorrow When The War Began by John Marsden

IMG_0730 IMG_0729

There are plenty of reasons why I’d save this book, but the main one is because I have John Marsden’s signature on it!

4. The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

IMG_0726IMG_0727

This is obviously one of my all-time favourite novels, but the main reason I’d save this if there was a fire is because I absolutely love this particular edition. The hardcover is beautiful and the full, colour pages of Lennie’s poems are amazing.

5. The Perks of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

IMG_0728

It was hard to pick the 5th book because I own so many books I’d love to save. But I ended up choosing Perks because it’s such an incredible book and because I haven’t really seen this edition around so I think it would be harder to buy again than a lot of my other books.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’d Save In A Fire

  1. Glad I motivated you to do this post! I feel honoured. These are some great choices in books, and I agree this is a totally cruel topic! All books deserve to be saved! And I LOVE your reading corner it looks so cozy and gorgeous! I really want to make my own reading corner but I have no time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 you’re welcome, you should indeed feel honoured 🙂 Thanks heaps! Yeah thanks I love my little reading chair. I need an ottoman or something though. And that’s my smaller bookshelf, my other one is on the other side of my room so not quite the library I might envision, but still pretty cool. Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

