Harry Potter Moment of the Week

IMG_0331

Hosted by Uncorked Thoughts.

05/03/2015 – Best ‘Neville Moment’

Neville Longbottom is easily one of my all-time favourite Harry Potter characters. If I wasn’t so Ron Weasley mad Neville’d be my favourite. I love how much his character develops throughout the novel from a clumsy, forgetful, shy kid to a brave, confidant and strong wizard (a true Gryffindor) who works hard against evil and slays Nagini, the seventh Horcrux. I mean, character development really doesn’t get much better than that. I loved seeing Neville grow up in the books and in the movies. There are so many great moments, it’s hard to pick just one! So it took me awhile to pick what the best Neville moment is and in the end I couldn’t just pick one. I had to pick two. 1) That moment when Dumbledore awards Neville 10 points for standing up to the trio. I’ve always liked this moment because Neville was so surprised to be the one that got Gryffindor over the line to beat Slytherin and win the House Cup. His amazement at winning at something, being awarded for being brave, is just a really great moment. I think it’s the starting point of Neville’s gradual growth into becoming the wizard he will one day be. _1310668376 2) That moment when Neville stands up against Voldemort before everyone else. This is just one of those amazing moments where Neville shows how much he has changed, how much he has become a leader in Harry, Ron and Hermione’s absence. The moment I’m talking about in particular goes like this:

Someone had broken free of the crowd and charged at Voldemort: Harry saw the figure hit the ground, disarmed, Voldemort throwing the challenger’s wand aside and laughing. ‘And who is this?’ he said, in his soft snake’s hiss. ‘Who has volunteered to demonstrate what happens to those who continue to fight when the battle is lost?’ Bellatrix gave a delighted laugh. ‘It is Neville Longbottom, my lord!….’ ‘Ah, yes, I remember,’ said Voldemort, looking down at Neville, who was struggling back to his feet, unarmed and unprotected, standing in the no-man’s-land between the survivors and the Death Eaters. ‘But you are a pure-bloof, aren’t you, my brave boy?’ Voldemort asked Neville, who stood facing him, his empty hands curled into fists. ‘So what if I am?’ said Neville loudly. ‘You show spirit, and bravery, and you come of noble stock. You will make a very valuable Death Eater. We need your kind, Neville Longbottom.’ ‘I’ll join you when hell freezes over,’ said Neville. ‘Dumbledore’s Army!’ he shouted, and there was an answering cheer from the crowd, whom Voldemort’s silencing charm seemed unable to hold.

Harry-Potter-Neville-Longbottom-Movie tumblr_m3ayg98ClL1qfvbw2o8_r1_250 And it was pretty epic in the film, as well, as Neville was given more lines than that (and didn’t have to experience the sorting hat burning on his head). And you know, then comes the whole Neville-pulls-the-Sword-of-Gryffindor-out-of-the-Sorting-Hat-and-it’s-freaking-awesome(and-then-kills-Nagini) moment. Oh, Neville is just brilliant. I better stop now before I start listing all his best moments in chronological order.

6 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week

Leave a Reply

