TOP TEN TUESDAY: Ten Book Related Problems of Mine

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event held by The Broke and the Bookish. 

I was a bit stumped by the topic this week. It took me awhile to come up with most of these. They’re a mixture of serious/fun problems I suppose. Here goes:

1. Late nights/sleep loss. 

Reading usually means late nights for me. Especially if I’m reading a book I can’t get enough of. I’m one of those people who just can’t stop reading, even if my eyes are stinging from being open for so long. Of course, I eventually force myself to shut my book, but so many nights I think to myself ‘just one more chapter’ and end up reading ten. Generally I finish reading around midnight these days. Most of the time. Could be worse, I suppose.

2. Very long TBR list/reading plan.

I have a problem where I sometimes forget to enjoy the book I’m reading and think too much about all the other books I want to read. Like, I’ve constructed a whole reading plan for this year (split into monthly reading lists) so I can (hopefully) complete my 2015 reading challenges. All the books on my TBR are ones I’ve wanted to read for a long time or books I’ve just heard about. I like having my goals for the year because it’s pushing me to read a lot of books I wouldn’t usually, but sometimes I get stressed about not being able to achieve my goals. Silly, I know.

3. When sequels seem to take forever to come out.

I hate starting a series and waiting for the next book to come out and having to wait for ages. Notably, this happened with Harry Potter and it killed me. I literally had a countdown for every single book hanging on my wall that I was always ticking off. Waiting for books has consumed my life many times. A series I recently started reading is The Raven Cycle. Which I thought was a trilogy but isn’t. Haven’t read the third book yet, but when I do, I’ll be waiting with the rest of you for the next one. Dammit.

4. No money.

There are so many books on my wishlist but I haven’t got enough money to buy them all :'(. I really love collecting books and I wish I could collect more and more and more. I’ve asked for them for christmas and birthdays but people can either never find them or end up getting me something else. Anyway. It sucks. I am planning on buying a couple to take with me to Vietnam, though.

5. Books are my friends.

I don’t think this is necessarily a problem as such, but lately books really have been my friends. I haven’t been very social. I have a few really close friends, but they either live far away or have full time jobs or boyfriends. I don’t, so I spend a lot of my time with books. Which is great. And I have my family, who are the most important to me. But you know, it gets a bit lonely when your best friends are books/characters in books who don’t know you exist. Haha.

6. Book boys.

Fictional boys are just so incredible. Why do they have to be so awesome and not actually exist? The number of crushes I’ve had on fictional boys (not just in books but also in TV and films) is insane. I don’t think I’ve ever had crushes on real people to that degree. I mean, I’ve been in love before and I’ve had a lot of crushes on real boys, but it’s different somehow. I don’t know. I just mean, where’s my Ron Weasley???

7. Waiting for books on hold at the library.

Sometimes I have to wait for certain books I want to read for ages! I can get really impatient about that. Lately, I’ve had a lot of luck with getting most of my books pretty quickly, but there have been times when I’ve had to wait months. It’s always such a treat when they do come, though!

8. Fictional lives vs my life.

Sometimes I find myself living through the characters in the books I read and wondering about how my life compares. Like some fictional characters have such interesting fictional lives and I wonder if mine would be interesting to anyone if it was also fictional. This isn’t really a problem as such, it’s just something I think about. If someone was to read a book of my life, what would they think about it? Is there anything in my life worthy of a novel? I think there is. In part. I’m not sure if I’d be a great fictional character myself (I think I’m probably too passive to be that interesting, so I think I’d need to be tinkered with a bit) but I’ve always thought about writing a book based on my life. Or parts of my life. Or a bunch of slight truths. I don’t know. It’s interesting to think what people might say if they read a story that was based on my life in some way. Even more interesting if they didn’t know it was. Hmm…

9. Book resolutions. 

It’s disappointing when a book doesn’t end the way you want it to or if the book has a major cliffhanger that keeps you up all night and you have to wait for the next book to be released. It’s always good when a book surprises you of course, but there are some books you read and you just want it to end they way you’d imagined or in a better way than you’d imagined. Also sucks why you read a book you loved and there’s no sequel or the series has ended! 😦

10. When you recommend a book to someone and they don’t like it/not sharing books with people.

I don’t really have friends who read much. It sucks. I don’t get much of a chance to recommend books to people. I hate that when I do lend someone a book they don’t like it nearly as much as I do. I want to have discussions about certain books, but alas, they didn’t like it. The only person I’ve been successful with in my recommendations is my sister Daisy. Even if she didn’t like, for example, Paper Towns as much as I did, we were still able to discuss it.  But she’s not a bookaholic like me – no one I know really is – and it takes her awhile to read one book.  Which is why I love having a blog because I get to recommend and share my books with you all! Hooray :D. It’s not all bad.

14 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: Ten Book Related Problems of Mine

  1. Ah I know how you feel about #10. I can never get my friends to read books! And I can totally relate to not having enough money and those late-night reading sessions. Happens to me a lot since I don’t have much time during the day thanks to school.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, those book boys! I’m surprised you’re the only one who’s mentioned this so far. And I totally agree about loving my blog to be able to discuss books. I have no reader friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m surprised too! Though Josie at Josie’s Book Corner also mentioned the book boys haha. Damn them lol. I know, it’s so great to have the online book blogger friends 🙂 Sucks to have no friends who read!!! I get no recommendations myself either :(. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

