TOP TEN TUESDAY: TOP TEN CONTEMPORARY CLASSICS I WANT TO READ

top ten tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, Top Ten is a weekly event in which we post about various bookish top tens. The topic this week is to chose ten books you wanted to read from a specific genre, whether they’ve been on your reading list for a long time or they’re staples in that genre or not is up to you. I chose contemporary classics because I couldn’t really think of any specific genre that I wanted to read ten books from, except for YA contemporary, which would normally be my go-to. I don’t know exactly how to classify books as ‘contemporary classics’ exactly, so I kind of made it up based on my perception. They were published sometime between 1960-now and have been well-received (or challenged) by the masses/literary critics. They’re all books I’ve been meaning to read because I’ve come across them throughout high school/university and heard interesting discussions around them/ I feel obliged to read them to strengthen my literary knowledge/they interest me/I’m challenging myself this year to read books I might not usually read in my leisure time. Obvious reasons, really. Anyway, I’ll stop blabbing. Here’s the list:

1. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess 

15540_1869d1d48c669ae72a763ec9d4d85ab3

2. Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

EII Cover

3. Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut 

slaughterhouse-5

4. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

the-kite-runner

5. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides 

71sJpKGagtL

6. White Oleander by Janet Fitch

white

7. Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

goldfinch

8. Atonement by Ian McEwan 

6867

9. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

The_Bell_Jar_Bantam_8139

10. We Need To Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

_40600660_shriverbook_203

So, what do you think of my list? Any of my choice that don’t seem to fit? Have you read any and what did you think? 🙂

12 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAY: TOP TEN CONTEMPORARY CLASSICS I WANT TO READ

  1. A Clockwork Orange made my list as well! And, fun fact, I just started it this evening.

    We Need to Talk About Kevin is one of the most uncomfortable books I’ve ever read (in a mostly good way). Make sure you’re in a good mental space for it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! How are you liking it so far? Been meaning to read it for so long.

      Thanks for the tip about We Need To Talk About Kevin. Reckon it’s definitely going to be a challenging read, hopefully I’ll cope! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll check out your list 🙂

      Like

  2. You have some great choices on here– White Oleander was a book I first read as a teenager and it really affected me. I reread it after finding it in a thrift store a few years ago and got swept up in it again. I also enjoyed The Kite Runner and Atonement when I read them. I need to get around to Slaughterhouse 5 one of these days, I do like Vonnegut.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 Yeah White Oleander has been sitting on my bookshelf for so long, I’m ashamed not to have read it yet! Have you seen the film? Looking forwards to reading the others too! Thanks for stopping by :):)

      Like

    1. Oh I feel you. My tbr this year is full of books that I’ve been meaning to read for so long. Middlesex is wonderful so far and The Virgin Suicides is so, so good! Jeffrey Eugenides is amazing. Hope you read them :):) thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

