Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’d Like To Read With My Book Club (If I had one)

top ten tuesday

Okay, I’ve seen the Top Ten Tuesday meme (hosted by the wonderful Broke and the Bookish) around ever since I first set up my blog and finally I have decided to join in. I must say, this week’s top 10 did definitely convince me to join in on the fun, especially as I love making lists about my favourite books (or books that I assume would be my favourite if I read them). Without further ado:

Ten Books I’d Like To Read With My Book Club (If I Had One)

1. Watership Down by Richard Adams

watership-down-richard-adams-06

Anyone who knows me well would know that Watership Down is my favourite novel, so it’s kind of an obvious choice to me.I really enjoy sharing my most beloved books with others and so to partake in reading this particular novel with a group of other avid readers would be truly wonderful and rewarding. I could spend ages talking about this novel and would certainly be delighted to have someone to talk to about it! (It’s a shame, no one I’m close to has even read it!)

2. Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey

9781742372624

I’m not very patriotic, but when I do come across a wonderful Australian novel like this, I can’t help but be proud to be born in this country. Or at least to be proud that one day, if I can ever discipline myself to write lots every day, I could possibly join such wonderful Australian writers as Craig Silvey. Jasper Jones would be a great novel to read in a book club because it is such a fascinating portrayal of humanity. I adored this novel. It really opened me up to so many things, both harsh and wonderful, about the world and Australia. It’s an important novel and I think it’s one that everyone should read.

3. A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah

A_Long_Way_Gone

This a wonderful and brutal memoir told be Ishmael Beah as he looks back on his years spent as a boy soilder. It’s a remarkable and frightening novel. It would be difficult novel to read in a group, but I think it would definitely be worth it to discuss the injustice of human cruelties, war, life, family and much more. An amazing book that is definitely due for a re-read in my case.

4. Tomorrow When The War Began (and sequels) by John Marsden 

tommorow-when-the-war-began-cover

John Marsden is another of my favourite Australian author and The Tomorrow Series is a wonderful set of books about bravery and friendship. I’ll probably get repetitive here, but this is definitely a book everyone should read. Everything Ellie and her friends have to go through is astounding, captivating, terrifying… It’s a must read and I’d simply like to read it with my book club (oh, the more I think about it the more I want one) for brilliant discussions and just because I’d like to introduce this series of books to people who haven’t had the chance of reading them.

5. Paper Towns by John Green

images

For many reasons, Paper Towns is my favourite John Green novel. I don’t know if it’s been overlooked because of the popularity of his other novels, which I also love, but I really believe people should read this one if they haven’t. Of course, it might not be to everyone’s tastes, but I think it has it all: humour, sorrow, friendship, love, the inevitable reality… I could go on. Point is I would love to read this with a group just to see what they think this novel is trying to say about life. Because I think this is a novel saying some really important things. I sure hope that comes across in the film!

6. How To Build A Girl by Caitlin Moran

9780062335975_custom-44e991c569c3fb83288f6483cbe55df48c840862-s99-c85

Okay, so I wasn’t sure whether or not I wanted to put this book on the list, but I decided to because I loved this book. It’s definitely not for everyone. Some people will probably find it quite offensive. But it’s important to read books that are a bit crude and vulgar etc, etc. I’d just really love to hear what others thought about this one. I reckon it would definitely start up some lively discussions!

7. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

zafon_b

I’ve chosen this book because I should probably chose a couple books I haven’t actually read yet and this one looks amazing. Fingers crossed it will be as good as it looks. Even if it might not be (I will find out when I read it soon) I think it’s important to read translated novels and to branch out into areas you might not read all the time. Hopefully my invisible book club and I would have a lot of fun with this one!

8. Life of Pi by Yann Martel 

life-of-pi

This has been on my reading list for a very, very long time. I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet, I really don’t. Anyway, so it would be a great excuse to read it if I was reading it with my imaginary book club. It’s meant to be a beautiful and fascinating book to read,  or so I’ve heard.

9. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

howls-moving-castle

I only just recently found out the Studio Ghibli’s Howl’s Moving Castle was a novel first! So awesome! So I’m very, very interested in reading this one and seeing how it differs to the film. Plus, it’s a fantasy! So, you know, different genres and stuff. I think it would be a really fun and entertaining read. Looking forwards to it myself.

10. Harry Potter (all seven books) by J. K Rowling

harry-potter-books-1

Obviously. I’m sorry, but if I was part of a book club and we didn’t read Harry Potter, I’d be incredibly disappointed. To pass up the opportunity to have endless discussions about the wizarding world would be such a waste. Like many of us, I have loved Harry Potter since childhood, but to be honest I don’t have enough people around me who share the same passion for the books as I do (my siblings come the closest to be my Potter pals). Back in primary school it was different, but now… Well. Provided that there were at least a few diehard fans in the club (and not too many that might make fun for whatever silly reason), I’d be incredibly happy to share the experience of reading Harry Potter with others. For sure. Oh. I bloody want my own reading club. Even an online one would do.

Well. That’s it for me. Hope you like my first Top Ten Tuesday and I’m very keen on reading all your lists when I get the chance. Happy book clubbing and reading everyone!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’d Like To Read With My Book Club (If I had one)

  1. The only one of these I’ve read is Harry Potter, but I’ve read them so many times I lost track so that counts for something. (except number seven, I’ve only read that once) I’ve been meaning to check out Howl’s Moving Castle. I’m too shy to go to a real book club but an online one sounds like fun. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

