Harry Potter Moment of the Week

IMG_0331

So, as I’ve missed quite a few weeks of Harry Potter Moment of the Week (hosted by Uncorked Thoughts), here’s the weekly questions that I’ve missed (in short versions as I have little time to get this post posted).


01/01/2015 – Favourite Death-Eater (Or one you most love to hate!)

I think that has to be Bellatrix Lestrange and I’d be surprised if she isn’t who everyone else chooses. She is a horrible, horrible character and it’s easy, and fun, to hate her. Of course, Helena Bonham Carter’s Bellatrix is the icing on the cake. And without Bellatrix we would never have witnessed Mrs Weasley’s greatest moment!

08/01/2015 – Biggest betrayal in the series?

The most obvious big betrayal is Peter Pettigrew’s to Lily and James Potter, obviously. I mean, without that betrayal there wouldn’t really be any story, or at least not the same story.

There are lots of other betrayals, of course. Like Snape calling Lily a Mudblood or Percy disowning the Weasley’s and one could argue that Dumbledore’s not confiding in Harry about his past is a betrayal (as Harry sees it) and then there’s Ron leaving Harry and Hermione (though I wouldn’t refer to that as strongly as betrayal as such, especially keeping in mind Ron’s regret and the outcome of the whole situation). Really, all of these “betrayals” are worthy of forgiveness. But I don’t think we can really forgive Peter Pettigrew and that’s why I chose his betrayal as the biggest (and because I really can’t think of anything else right now).

15/01/2015 – Scariest moment in the series

I can’t ever remember being really scared (like the kind of scared where I had nightmares and couldn’t sleep) while reading the books. I mean, of course, there were lots of times where I was in suspense and basically speed-reading to get to the part where everything was resolved, and I do remember been scared about what was going to happen to certain characters a number of times, such as when Ron is attacked by the brains in The Order of The Phoenix. Other notable “scary” moments have to be meeting Aragog, Harry’s first encounter with Voldemort, The Basilisk, Sirius-before-we-know-he-isn’t-evil (like when he takes Ron in dog form), The Maze/The Cemetery, The Inferi and Harry’s last encounter with Voldemort in the Forbidden Forest. Just off the top of my head. Such moments also frightened me in the movies to a point, but I don’t remember ever being awfully perturbed by any particular moment in the series.

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week

  1. I totally agree with Bellatrix Lestrange. Helena plays her perfectly and I can’t imagine a better character. I think was an underrated force.

    Like

Leave a Reply

