Jasmine’s Playlists #8: 2014 (or songs I haven’t yet included in a playlist)

2014 was a difficult and wonderful year. Here are just some of the songs I spent the year listening to, songs that remind me of happy times and songs that got me through.

1. Mathilda by Little Comets

The wonderful albums of Little Comets have basically been the soundtrack of my life this year. It’s very hard to chose just one song, even when I’ve already named many in former playlists. Mathilda is definitely a favourite, though One Night In October, Lost Time, Dancing Song and A Little Opus (and all the others) could have easily been picked, too.

2. We Are The Tide by Blind Pilot

Just one of those songs that gets me singing and makes me happy (which is the effect of most of these songs). It’s just a lovely sounding, mellow song.

3. I Forget Where We Were by Ben Howard

Ben Howard…he is so amazing. I hope to see him on tour in Melbourne in March. I’ve had to wait to buy the tickets because I don’t want to dip into my savings, but hopefully there’ll be tickets left this time next week! This song is wonderful, but then again they all are.

4. Cigarette Daydreams by Cage the Elephant

One of those songs we listen to in the car. My family and I are very big on listening to music in the car, no matter how short the trip we’ve always got one of our iPods plugged in.

5. Geronimo by Sheppard

I don’t often like a lot of the songs played on the radio/mainstream pop just isn’t my thing. But I like this song, I really do. Again, it makes me happy. And it reminds me of my mum and her class at the concert they putt on 🙂

6. The Breach by Dustin Tebbutt

A lovely, beautiful song. Dustin Tebbutt is wonderful. I think a lot of acoustic singers are wonderful and I’m really not just saying it. Bones is also a superb track.

7. Fall Underneath by Snakadaktal 

There was a period early in the year where I was listening to this song on repeat for a month. Like every day. Particularly in the mornings when I had to walk to the station at 5.30 am to get to work. I still love it.

8. Hide by Little May

A fun and joyful song. Trying to describe my love for this song (and for the others) is difficult in my state of utter exhaustion, so all I can tell you is to please listen to it (them).

9. I Need My Girl by The National

Because I had a wonderful time seeing them on tour and this was my favourite song they did. Because I like to remember the good times and be happy they happened.

10. Luna by Bombay Bicycle Club

Do I really need to spell it out for you? It just makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

