Teaser Tuesday

IMG_0306

A weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading in which you share a two-sentence teaser from your current read :).

The book:

Wildlife by Fiona Wood

Wildlife-CVR-crop-540x836

Goodreads

Life? It’s simple: be true to yourself.
The tricky part is finding out exactly who you are…
In the holidays before the dreaded term at Crowthorne Grammar’s outdoor education camp two things out of the ordinary happened.
A picture of me was plastered all over a twenty-metre billboard.
And I kissed Ben Capaldi.

Boarding for a term in the wilderness, sixteen-year-old Sibylla expects the gruesome outdoor education program – but friendship complications, and love that goes wrong? They’re extra-curricula.
Enter Lou from Six Impossible Things – the reluctant new girl for this term in the great outdoors. Fragile behind an implacable mask, she is grieving a death that occurred almost a year ago. Despite herself, Lou becomes intrigued by the unfolding drama between her housemates Sibylla and Holly, and has to decide whether to end her self-imposed detachment and join the fray.
And as Sibylla confronts a tangle of betrayal, she needs to renegotiate everything she thought she knew about surviving in the wild.
A story about first love, friendship and NOT fitting in.

I picked this up from the library a few weeks ago and was pleased to discover Fiona Wood is a fellow Aussie/Melbournian and writes YA. Just like I hope to someday.

I don’t particularly like the cover (which doesn’t really say much about the novel as of yet except that a majority of it takes place outdoors/at a camp) and it didn’t really make me expect much. But I decided to give it a go, and so far I’m pleasantly surprised. The characters are great, especially Lou, and I like that it seems to be more of a friendship story rather than a love story. I am a little annoyed at myself that I didn’t realise this is tied to Wood’s Six Impossible Things which I haven’t read and which has been spoiled for me now (at least with some of the storylines). But anyway. I plan to also read that sometime soon, once I’m done with the other 8 books I plan to read this month….eek.

The teaser:

Perhaps it is indeed time start talking to an exercise book. It is essentially just more talking to myself, but that is okay because my heart is its own fierce country where nobody else is welcome.

What’s your Teaser Tuesday book this week?

6 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday

Leave a Reply

