Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes: Book Review

18340210 middle_29b03b87a968ed899d5eaef3c41c574f71_misfit_quote2

This is one truly unexpected and wonderful novel. I just finished reading it and couldn’t resist immediately penning down my thoughts. While crying inside. Because this is a novel that makes you feel a lot of things and, like Melissa Kantor says on the back of the book, it makes you laugh out loud and also breaks your heart (even if you kind of feel, like I did, that you know – even only vaguely – what’s going to happen).

Anika Dragomir is a fantastic character. Definitely a front-runner for most witty and interesting female character I’ve ever read. The way Andrea Portes has managed to construct the tone through Anika’s voice is captivating and really readable. Portes is a beautiful writer.

Anika is hilarious and I’m telling you, there is not one moment in this novel where you will be bored of her and everything that’s going on in her world. Anika sure has a lot to worry about: how to stay cool as the third most popular girl in school by keeping girl no.1 Becky satisfied, how to keep up her A grades, how to choose between misfit Logan who she’s pretty sure she’s in love with and Jared, the-heart-throb-whose-basically-a-celebrity, and how to help the new girl at work who’s shunned because she’s basically the only black girl in Lincoln, Nebraska. And that’s only the half of it.

I can’t go into much more detail about the plot because it will be treading dangerous spoilery waters – and this is not a book that should be spoiled for anyone.

I’m actually speechless.

I’m not saying this is a perfect novel, because there were some things that were a bit…juvenile about it (and yeah, you won’t like it if reading a whole load of swear words and rude name-calling ruins a book for you, and sometimes that stuff did bug me a little but mostly I just found it honest). So I’m still speechless.

The majority of the novel is so incredibly witty and sarcastic that it’s a bit of a shock when things…happen. ARGH. If this wasn’t a review I could spill all the secrets and gush about how wonderful Logan is and how much I wish I could have just reached into the novel and shook Anika hard and told her to wake up. But that would ruin the whole point of the novel. And that point is, basically, that you should never give a damn what others think and you should always do exactly what your heart tells you. Even if that’s a corny/sentimental thing to say, it’s the truth. And I think that’s something everyone, from people suffering from peer pressure or people who are just too anxious to go after what they want, should learn.

Before it really is too late.

READ THIS BOOK NOW.

The end. 

4 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes: Book Review

    1. Yay! I’m glad. I hope you like it as much as I did when you get around to reading it! It’s probably not a book for everyone, especially if you’re easily offended. But I thought it was wonderful 🙂

      Like

      1. I don’t actually have a copy of the book yet, I might go buy it as a celebration for all this exam work. If not I’ll get it either in the New Year of after Christmas. 🙂 Your review only made me want to read the book more so I think it’s something I’ll enjoy 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

