get to know me and my reading habits

This is a book quiz from tumblr. But I found it at ATalking Neko.

1. Favorite childhood book?

I have so many. Harry Potter is (obviously) at the top of the list, but not just as a childhood book. I also loved Paul Jennings books, Enid Blyton books, Roald Dahl books, The Chronicles of Narnia and picture books like The Eleventh Hour, Where the Wild Things Are and The Hungry Caterpillar.

2. What are you reading right now?

I’m currently making my way through two books: Robin Hobb’s Assassin’s Apprentice and Adi Alsaid’s Let’s Get Lost.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Side Effects May Vary – Julie Murphy

How To Build A Girl – Caitlin Moran

Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro

Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

4. Bad book habit?

I don’t read books out of my comfort zone very often/I stick to what I know I like. Maybe that’s not a bad thing, but it probably means I’m missing out on something I might love.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?

Let’s Get Lost (as above), Sway by Kat Spears and Shade’s Children by Garth Nix.

6. Do you have an e-reader?

No. I have an iPad, but I now avoid e-books at all costs. (Tried it once and didn’t like it).

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?

Well, lately I’ve been slowly reading Assassin’s Apprentice while also reading other books. Not because AA is a bad book, it’s actually really good but…anyway for complicated reasons. But usually I prefer to just read one book at a time.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

Well, I’m definitely reading a lot more. But I don’t know if that’s because of my blog. More that I have a lot more free time at the moment.

9. Least favourite book you read this year (so far?)

Can I count the books I wasn’t able to finish because they were so crap? In that case it would have to be The Infinite Moment of Us by Laura Myracle and That Boy by Jillian Dodd. Otherwise, I’d have to go with To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I was not impressed.

10. Favourite book you’ve read this year?

Too many! Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones, I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson, Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey, The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides, The Road by Cormac McCarthy, The Outsiders by S.E Hinton, Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins and Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?

Not often enough! At least not by choice. Obviously I have for uni, and sometimes that presents me with amazing books I might not have read otherwise. But I am trying to do it for fun more.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?

Pretty much anything Young Adult.

13. Can you read on the bus?

I can read anywhere. Well, not literally. I’d read while I slept if I could.

14. Favorite place to read?

In bed.

15. What is your policy on book lending?

I expect the binding not to be creased when it’s returned and for them to use a bookmark. Also for them not to lose the book. Or spill coffee on it. Or lose the dust cover. Really just to treat the book well!

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?

I admit I used to but I fortunately got out of that habit/being too lazy to find a bookmark.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?

No.

18. Not even with text books?

Okay, sure. In High School I did.

19. What is your favourite language to read in?

English. I’d read in French if I was any good at it, but unfortunately my LOTE skills aren’t on point anymore.

20. What makes you love a book?

Learning something new, characters that seem like friends, being able to relate to the characters or story. If it’s saying something important about life. If it takes me away from mine.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

If it’s just so wonderful that I demand every reader in the world should read it I will recommend it.

22. Favourite genre?

YA. Some General Fiction, too. And I do enjoy Fantasy, I just haven’t read much of it.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)

Science Fiction, I suppose. I’ve never really gotten into it before. I usually find the exposition, the same with Fantasy, can sometimes go on and on and drag… Or I’ll find the story a bit… unrealistic.

Though I have been known to enjoy Science Fiction if it’s Jeff Noon’s Vurt. So more like that I’d enjoy.

24. Favourite biography?

I can only think of autobiographies/memoirs like Ishmael Beah’s A Long Way Gone and Sally Morgan’s My Place.

Though I think I did read a J.K Rowling biography once…

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?

No.

26. Favourite cookbook?

Jamie Oliver.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?

Probably I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson.

28. Favourite reading snack?

Chocolate, probably. But lately I haven’t been snacking when I read. Except for some fruit.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.

I can’t actually think of anything for that.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?

I don’t often read reviews. But if I do I guess it depends/can go either way.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?

They’re fine if they’re accurate or aimed at a book I don’t like. I mean, I can’t say I’d ever like reading a bad review of a book I love.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?

Something super impressive, like Arabic. So difficult!

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read? 

A Long Way Gone by Ishmael Beah

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?

No way I’m going anywhere near American Psycho EVER.

35. Favourite Poet?

Sylvia Plath.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?

Lately two or three.

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?

Sometimes, I suppose.

38. Favourite fictional character? 

Ron Weasley.

I could list so many more, but… the short answer is nice, too.

39. Favourite fictional villain?

Hmm….

Mayor Prentiss.

I don’t really know.

40. Books you’re most likely to bring on vacation?

Watership Down and Anna and the French Kiss and something I haven’t read yet. It would be too hard to take my Harry Potter collection as it would be impossible to chose.

41. The longest you’ve gone without reading.

I don’t know. I’m usually reading something, even if sometimes sparsely because I’ve had other things on. Maybe a week at the most?

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.

See question 9.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?

Conversation.

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel?

I love the Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings films of course! I dunno, I’m usually pleased enough with film adaptations, have a few favourites.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?

The Host. Well, not exactly disappointing. I wasn’t really expecting much. It really sucked.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?

$100? I have no idea.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?

Never.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through?

If it was boring, uninteresting, predictable, really badly written, trite, etc etc.

49. Do you like to keep your books organised?

I would love to if I had a bigger bookshelf. I have tried, though, but it gets hard when you have to start stacking books on the floor/against the wall.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?

I like to keep my books and I shall until I die.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?

Not particularly. Just the ones that look trashy. It’s kinda easy to avoid books I know suck, like Fifty Shades of Grey for example.

52. Name a book that made you angry.

All the crappy ones that sucked. I can’t think of any in particular.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?

Probably Loaded by Christos Tsiolkas. I really didn’t expect to like that for some reason, but I really did.

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?

The ones I’ve already mentioned disliking. Others I can’t think of right now..

55. Favourite guilt-free, pleasure reading?

Every good YA Contemporary Lit romance book :).

Well… that wasted some time!

4 thoughts on “get to know me and my reading habits

Leave a Reply

