David Levithan’s How They Met and Other Stories: Book Review

16406-9781405271356how they met and other stories AU

This was a sweet little collection of stories about love – not just romantic love, but different kinds of love. And not just love stories that have a happy ending, but also the ones that just end. Each of the stories show a good range of these different kinds of loves, some giving you all the answers, and some making you wonder.

While I admire the concept of this short story collection, I didn’t love it was much as I’d hoped. While I could see what David Levithan was trying to do in the stories, some of them just didn’t connect with me, or I didn’t connect with them, for whatever reason. I can’t even fathom exactly why. How I Met itself is a sweet story about Levithan’s grandparents, but I wouldn’t add it to my list of favourite stories of all time, for example.

However, there are a few stories that I really liked. Those are Starbucks Boy, The Alumni Interview, The Number of People Who Meet On Airplanes, Intersection and Miss Lucy Had A Steamboat. The last one was probably my favourite in the whole collection, because I found I could really relate to the main character and her experience of first/love, the end of that love, and her reaching the realisation that being independent is an important thing, and one shouldn’t risk their happiness by relying on someone else, especially if that person doesn’t care for you as much as you do them.

Despite my ‘meh’ response to some of the stories, I still think this is a worthwhile short story collection to read. Not my favourite David Levithan, but definitely miles better than Twilight or The Infinite Moment of Us or That Boy (man, that was an awful book!). It’s also a good book to have around if you want to read something short between reads, or before bed. Don’t be putt off. The stories I mentioned, and perhaps others, carry important messages and snippets of love’s most complicated, wonderful, confusing, hurtful and happily-ever-after (but not in a Hollywood way) moments. I recommend you add this to your TBR list and see what you think :).

4 thoughts on “David Levithan’s How They Met and Other Stories: Book Review

      1. I really loved the Starbucks one, that little girl is a genius! I liked the flirting with waiters one too. Which were your favourites?

        Like

Leave a Reply

