Harry Potter Moment of the Week

IMG_0331An awesome meme hosted by Uncorked Thoughts

06/11/2014 – Best ‘Luna Moment’

Oh, Luna Lovegood. She is an absolute favourite of mine, I love her so. I love everything about her, especially how comfortable she is being who she is and not caring what others think of her. Always my favourite female character in Harry Potter (Sorry Hermione, I like you too though!).

It was hard to think of my favourite Luna moment. There are so many! In the books and in the films. So I’ve ended up choosing quite a lot of different moments from the book and films (because we really can’t ignore how brilliant Evanna Lynch is as Luna!).

First the book Luna:

Obvious first choice is our first meeting of Luna, in The Order of the Phoenix:

IMG_0390

I really love how Harry, Ginny and Neville react to Luna, even if they do put her down as a oddity at first, it’s great to see throughout the remainder of the books how their friendships develop. It’s a really entertaining and memorable scene.

Of course, I also like the adapted version of these scene in the films (in which Ron and Hermione are also there – as in the films they were not appointed as Prefects. Evanna’s Luna is pretty awesome!

tumblr_ln4v7aw3dh1qbt8cvo1_500

Another memorable scene, which works for both film and novel is:

tumblr_m88hg2e4QT1qahfowo2_250 “Hello’ said a vague and dreamy voice from behind them. Harry looked up: Luna Lovegood had drifted over from the Ravenclaw table. Many people were staring at her and few people openly laughing and pointing; she had managed to procure a hat shaped like a life-size lion’s head, which was perched precariously on her head.
‘I’m supporting Gryffindor’ said Luna, pointing unnecessarily at her hat. “Look what it does…’
She reached up and tapped the hat with her wand. It opened its mouth wide and gave an extremely realistic roar that made everyone in the vicinity jump.
‘It’s good, isn’t it?’ said Luna happily. ‘I wanted to have it chewing up a serpent to represent Slytherin, you know, but there wasn’t time. Anyway…good luck, Ronald!’

One thing (because Ron is my favourite character EVER not just in HP) I did miss about the film Luna is that Luna and Ron didn’t get to interact so much in the films. I always liked how she called Ron ‘Ronald’ and one of my other favourite Luna moments is in The Half-Blood Prince, chapter 20, in which she loads cat litter stuff and other odd things into Ron’s arms. Ron is definitely right that Luna does indeed grow on you.

And of course, you can’t go passed Luna’s commentary of one of the Quidditch matches. For example: ‘And Harry Potter’s now having an argument with his Keeper,’ Luna said serenely. ‘I don’t think that’ll help him find the Snitch, but maybe it’s a clever ruse…’

In the films I like the scene with Harry and Luna in the Forbidden Forest with the Thestrals. At first I wasn’t sure about it, but because we got to see more Luna in the movie because of it, I can’t complain.

5df85e94e06f9eaf01588719708bf2e4

And, of course, there’s that moment where Luna does her first Patronus and it’s a rabbit/hare (I love rabbits) and it hops all over the Room of Requirement. Brilliant.

Luna-Patronus

Of course, there are so many other brilliant Luna moments. But if I go on this is going to turn into a thesis! Happy Harry Potter day everyone :).

One thought on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week

Leave a Reply

