Friday Finds

IMG_0363

A weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading

 

This week I’ve ended up finding a few Contemporary novels about love. Even if my own love life is at a stand still, and will be for a long time if I have anything to do with it (I’m done with relationships and love at the moment, having no desire to search for it and preferring to focus on my independent wellbeing), that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy fictional love stories (which I do, a lot!). I believe in love, I really do, and (perhaps foolishly) I believe in true love. I don’t mean one true love, because I think it’s definitely possible for people to be in love many times during their life, but rather the kind of love that lasts, the kind that sticks around when you’re old and wrinkly. Anyway. Moving on to the good stuff. Odd that they all have blue/purple covers.

Love and Other Foreign Words 

22144858

Goodreads

Can anyone be truly herself–or truly in love–in a language that’s not her own?

Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue — the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn’t always like, and the best friend who hasn’t said a word — at least not in a language Josie understands.

Why I want to read it: Ignoring the fact that I’ve heard this is a perfect novel for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (which I hear everywhere and isn’t starting to mean much) and the cover (which I don’t really like), I’ve heard a lot of good stuff about Josie’s character. She sounds like a good character. I think that’s the main reason why I want to read it. I’m hoping she’s not one of the girls who are all ‘oh I don’t know how I feel help me’ because that’s super annoying. And of course, I’m quite intrigued about this best friend of hers…I am a sucker for friendships turned into romance. Of course, that might not be the case here, but anyway. I think I’ll enjoy this novel regardless.

The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle 

url

Goodreads 

For as long as she can remember, Wren Gray’s goal has been to please her parents. But as high school graduation nears, so does an uncomfortable realization: Pleasing her parents once overlapped with pleasing herself, but now… not so much. Wren needs to honor her own desires, but how can she if she doesn’t even know what they are?
Charlie Parker, on the other hand, is painfully aware of his heart’s desire. A gentle boy with a troubled past, Charlie has loved Wren since the day he first saw her. But a girl like Wren would never fall for a guy like Charlie—at least not the sort of guy Charlie believes himself to be.
And yet certain things are written in the stars. And in the summer after high school, Wren and Charlie’s souls will collide. But souls are complicated, as are the bodies that house them…

Why I want to read it: Well, not because of the title, that’s for sure. Jokes aside, this sounds like a particularly mushy love story full of tension that I just know I’ll enjoy. Well, I hope. (Hopefully this Wren girl doesn’t get on my nerves, but I have a feeling Charlie will make up for it).

Where Rainbows End (or Love, Rosie) by Cecilia Ahern 

Cecelia_Ahern__Where_rainbows_end

Rosie and Alex are destined for one another, and everyone seems to know it but them. Best friends since childhood, their relationship gets closer by the day, until Alex gets the news that his family is leaving Dublin and moving to Boston. At 17, Rosie and Alex have just started to see each other in a more romantic light. Devastated, the two make plans for Rosie to apply to colleges in the U.S.
She gets into Boston University, Alex gets into Harvard, and everything is falling into place, when on the eve of her departure, Rosie gets news that will change their lives forever: She’s pregnant by a boy she’d gone out with while on the rebound from Alex.
Her dreams for college, Alex, and a glamorous career dashed, Rosie stays in Dublin to become a single mother, while Alex pursues a medical career and a new love in Boston. But destiny is a funny thing, and in this novel, structured as a series of clever e-mails, letters, notes, and a trail of missed opportunities, Alex and Rosie find out that fate isn’t done with them yet.

Why I want to read it: Usually I avoid novels like this, the Nicholas Sparks kind. I don’t know why, but I suppose they’ve always seemed…too sentimental. But whatever. I’ve decided to give this one a go. I very recently saw the trailer for the film based on this book Love, Rose, which I would like to see. But as a booklover, it’s paramount that I read the book first :).

Leave a Reply

