Friday Finds

IMG_0363

Okay, time to start participating in yet another book meme. Friday Finds is hosted by Should Be Reading. Basically a list of books you’ve “found” and added to your TBR list. Not that I really need to add books to my list, I already have so many on there, but well…more to look forward to!

So here goes. I found all of the following books online by riffling through different book lists on Goodreads and looking at books similar to ones I’ve loved before. I don’t know if I’ll even be able to get hold of some of these without really digging into my savings or putting up with e-books, but hopefully some of them will be available at my library!

This is Shyness by Leanne Hall 

8061032

A captivating novel told from the points of view of two unforgettable characters. In the suburb of Shyness, the sun doesn’t rise. Wolfboy meets a stranger called Wildgirl, who dares him to be her guide through the endless night. There are things that can only be said in the dark.This is Shyness was shortlisted for a number of major Australian literary awards and named a Children’s Book Council of Australia Notable Book.

Why I want to read it: Purely just because it sounds interesting and sweet. And I’m a shy person, so that clicks for me. Plus, I enjoy “children’s” novels.

There Will Come A Time by Carrie Arcos 

18249312

Mark knows grief. Ever since the accident that killed his twin sister, Grace, the only time he feels at peace is when he visits the bridge on which she died. Comfort is fleeting, but it’s almost within reach when he’s standing on the wrong side of the suicide bars. Almost.
Grace’s best friend, Hanna, says she understands what he’s going through. But she doesn’t. She can’t. It’s not just the enormity of his loss. As her twin, Mark should have known Grace as well as he knows himself. Yet when he reads her journal, it’s as if he didn’t know her at all.
As a way to remember Grace, Hanna convinces Mark to complete Grace’s bucket list from her journal. Mark’s sadness, anger, and his growing feelings for Hannah threaten to overwhelm him. But Mark can’t back out. He made a promise to honour Grace—and it’s his one chance to set things right.

Why I want to read it: I enjoy novels where the protagonist is in conflict with their feelings and feel like they’re alone or that they know everything but really they still have a lot to learn about themselves and the people they care about.

Blindness by Jose Saramago 

516RZWx356L

 A city is hit by an epidemic of “white blindness” that spares no one. Authorities confine the blind to an empty mental hospital, but there the criminal element holds everyone captive, stealing food rations and assaulting women. There is one eyewitness to this nightmare who guides her charges—among them a boy with no mother, a girl with dark glasses, a dog of tears—through the barren streets, and their procession becomes as uncanny as the surroundings are harrowing. As Blindness reclaims the age-old story of a plague, it evokes the vivid and trembling horrors of the twentieth century, leaving readers with a powerful vision of the human spirit that’s bound both by weakness and exhilarating strength. 

Why I want to read it: Maybe I shouldn’t be including this as a Friday Find, because I’ve seen it around quite a bit lately. Anyway, I’d like to read it, not just because it won the Nobel Prize, but because I am generally really interested in the whole concept, and it’s probably the kind of novel I don’t really read much of, so it will be good to read something different.

Random by Tom Leveen 

Who’s the real victim here? This tense and gripping exploration of cyberbullying and teen suicide is perfect for fans of Before I Fall and Thirteen Reasons Why.
Late at night Tori receives a random random-tom-leveenphone call. It’s a wrong number. But the caller seems to want to talk, so she stays on the line.
He asks for a single thing—one reason not to kill himself.
The request plunges her into confusion. Because if this random caller actually does what he plans, he’ll be the second person connected to Tori to take his own life. And the first just might land her in jail. After her Facebook page became Exhibit A in a tragic national news story about cyberbullying, Tori can’t help but suspect the caller is a fraud. But what if he’s not? Her words alone may hold the power of life or death.
With the clock ticking, Tori has little time to save a stranger—and maybe redeem herself—leading to a startling conclusion that changes everything…

Why I want to read it: Maybe I’m a bit strange, but I’m really interested in the cyberbullying genre, or anything related to technology/the Internet (well it makes sense if you were to read my thesis). Whatever the case, I am quite intrigued by this.

After the Snow by S.D Crockett

11801954 Fifteen-year-old Willo was out hunting when the trucks came and took his family away. Left alone in the snow, Willo becomes determined to find and rescue his family, and he knows just who to talk with to learn where they are. He plans to head across the mountains and make Farmer Geraint tell him where his family has gone.
But on the way across the mountain, he finds Mary, a refugee from the city, whose father is lost and who is starving to death. The smart thing to do would be to leave her alone — he doesn’t have enough supplies for two or the time to take care of a girl — but Willo just can’t do it. However, with the world trapped in an ice age, the odds of them surviving on their own are not good. And even if he does manage to keep Mary safe, what about finding his family?

Why I want to read it: Well, I just love a good survival tale. Really, if this is well-written, I think it has the potential for being quite a good read. I hope.

How It Ends by Laura Wiess

how-it-ends_lu6p Seventeen-year-old Hanna has been in love with Seth for as long as she can remember, but now that she and Seth are in an actual relationship, love isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Seth is controlling and all they seem to do anymore is fight. If that’s what love is, Hanna doesn’t want any part of it. Besides, she has something else on her mind: graduation. But she’s been ignoring the school’s community service requirement, and now she needs to rack up some hours in a hurry.

Hanna volunteers as a caretaker for her neighbor Mrs. Schoenmaker—an elderly woman with advanced Parkinson’s whose husband can’t always be there to watch over her. While caring for Mrs. S., Hanna becomes mesmerized by an audiobook that the older woman is listening to, a love story of passion, sacrifice, and complete devotion. She’s fascinated by the idea that love like that really exists, and slowly, the story begins to change her. But what Hanna doesn’t know is that the story she’s listening to is not fiction—and that Mrs. Schoenmaker and her husband’s devotion to each other is about to reach its shattering, irrevocable conclusion….

Why I want to read it: I don’t really know why, but I feel like I’d learn something from this novel. I know what it’s like for things to end, so I guess on that level I’d relate to this novel. But also I’m hoping to reach some kind of revelation about love myself by reading this. Might sound stupid, and I probably won’t, but still. I’d love to give this one a crack.

So there you have it. I’ll be posting Friday Finds weekly, though they might not always be this many books. Have to stop myself from adding 500 books to my reading list or something.

What are your Friday Finds? 🙂

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Friday Finds

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s