Some Boys by Patty Blount: Review

someboys

I picked up Patty Blount’s Some Boys, published this year, from my local library last week. I decided to start reading it yesterday to give myself some down-time even though it’s not on any of the reading lists I’ve posted so far. Well, whatever, at least I’m reading something while finalising my thesis and last assignment. I finished the book (only 350 pages long, so not a difficult length) today after work, and I quite enjoyed it.

Here’s the Goodreads blurb:

When Grace meets Ian she’s afraid. Afraid he’ll reject her like the rest of the school, like her own family. After she accuses the town golden boy of rape, everyone turns against Grace. They call her a slut and a liar. But…Ian doesn’t. He’s funny and kind with secrets of his own.

But how do you trust the best friend of the boy who raped you? How do you believe in love?

Sure, Blount’s writing needs some work sometimes and the book could have gone with another read-through as there were a few typos/missing words, but I generally thought it was a good, worthwhile read that focuses on some really important issues in our society. What I liked most about it was that it wasn’t a silly, unrealistic teen romance novel – which I can sometimes get into, but not often. This book actually carries an important message about how girls/women are bullied, shamed and sexualised. It’s important to categorise this book as not a teen romance, but a novel about rape, misogyny and how women are often seen/objectified by men. I won’t give much away about the plot itself, but I think Blount deals with these issues in a really significant way that demonstrates how much we should all be paying attention to how women and girls are treated, whether in schools or in media. Blount really looks into the fact that some men see themselves as the victim, that they are unable to control themselves and that it’s the woman who is always at fault when it comes to sexual abuse/rape because of what she wears, how she acts or because men think a woman’s body is theirs to use and own.

Can I just say, I loved Grace. She’s a fighter and a survivor, not just a victim. I really liked that she didn’t take no shit from anyone, and really stood up for what was right and for what she believed in, and stayed strong even though she was afraid.There were some pretty epic moments in the novel in which I felt quite proud to be a woman like Grace – not that I’ve experienced what she did, but still. Everything she says is spot on and I applaud that.

It took me awhile to warm up to Ian because he does some stupid stuff, but eventually I did – it certainly helped that most of the other boys were complete dickheads. Zac in particular, of course.

The friendship/romance between Ian and Grace is plotted well and moves at a good pace with the right build of angst and sexual tension. Which is always what a romance plot needs. It’s quite sweet, and definitely had me smiling at certain points.

Some Boys might not be the best book in the world, but the subject matter is definitely not something to be ignored. You should definitely give it a read if you’re keen :).

Leave a Reply

