Jasmine’s Playlists #4: 90’s tracks I’m listening to.

IMG_0255

1. Champagne Supernova by Oasis 

tumblr_lgqzy3nmN91qamdvqo1_500

I’m not even sure exactly what this song means, but I haven’t been able to stop listening to it. Ever since hearing it again on My Mad Fat Diary. I guess what it means to me is how life changes, you meet special people a long the way, and life leads you to the end of things, the last being death  death, so you should enjoy it while you have it, while you’re here, and you should be with the people you love.

2. Under the Bridge by Red Hot Chilli Peppers

6a00e551f9630d883301901e8da5d3970b

I’ve loved the Red Hot Chilli Peppers ever since my Dad leant me his copy of Blood Sugar Sex Magik years ago. Under The Bridge has always been a favourite. I have a vague memory of crying to this on days I felt lonely. It’s a really emotional song that way. ‘Sometimes I feel like my only friend’ and ‘It’s hard to believe there’s nobody out there…I’m alone’ are some of the lyrics that always hit me. I know it’s about Anthony’s drug habit, but I think it has real meaning to anyone who has ever felt alone.

3. Teardrop by Massive Attack

Adobe Photoshop PDF

Love, love is a verb. Love is a doing word….You stumble in the dark.

I’ve loved this song for a long time. The voice and instrumental quality of it is so…hypnotic. What does the song mean? There isn’t much point in trying to figure that out. I really like the lyrics above the most. Brilliant.

4. Lovefool by The Cardigans

tumblr_ktsvwmcDgM1qa1f2go1_1280

A bit more poppy than the other songs, I know. But this is really stuck in my head at the moment, like an annoying guilty pleasure. I won’t give the reasons why, but I’m kind of relating to this song at the moment. Except for the fact that I’m no fool.

5. Wake Up by Rage Against the Machine 

-Rage-Against-The-Machine-Fresh-New-Hd-Wallpaper--

This might be a surprise to everyone because it’s not exactly something I usually go around telling people, but I am actually quite a big fan of Rage Against the Machine. Seriously. Their debut album is one of the best things I’ve ever heard and it got me through my punk phase in high school. I’d walk around school with my earphones in listening to it. I like all the songs, so didn’t chose Wake Up for any specific reason. Know Your Enemy, Bombtrack, Killing in the Name and Freedom are also brilliant. Getting back into their music now to let off some steam.

6. How Soon Is Now by The Smiths

Scan

There are no words

for how epic this

song is, okay.

7. Dreams by The Cranberries 

tumblr_l145n0cmco1qbctkwo1_500

I used to love this song when I was younger, but then I didn’t hear it for awhile. I have since loved this song once again ever since watching Chungking Express (which is an amazing film that everyone should watch!) It is a song that stirs up lots of painful and happy memories that will always belong to me.

8. Needle In The Hay by Elliot Smith

I can’t beat myself. I can’t beat myself. And I don’t want to talk. I’m taking the cure so I can be quiet.

What can I say about this song? Just gotta be careful not to listen to it in the bathroom. (Reference to The Royal Tenenbaums if you didn’t know). A whimsical, haunting acoustic song that I can’t begin to describe with words. Just listen to it.

9. Wonderwall by Oasis

original-1

I can remember very clearly the first time I ever heard this song. I was 11 and it was late Christmas night. There was music videos on in the lounge room. And I sat there watching the music video and was captivated by this song. I think my music tastes changed a bit then. I don’t think I really understood the song at the time, but I definitely do now. A lot. I don’t think I’ll ever tire of this song. But my wonderwall won’t be saving me. I have to save myself :).

10. To Wish Impossible Things by The Cure

tumblr_mrjf57sdIT1scmn3vo1_500

This is probably the saddest song I’ve ever heard in my life. I’m being serious here. I never really liked The Cure before hearing this, but I can’t stop listening to it. A little masochistic, perhaps. But I am in love with this song.

‘All I wish is gone away.’ 

Of course if I was still a seven year old kid living in the 90’s this would have been the playlist:

S Club Party by S Club 7

C’est La Via by Bewitched 

MMMBop by Hanson 

Genie in a Bottle by Christina Aguilera 

Sometimes by Britney Spears

Bye, Bye, Bye by Nsync 

Too Much by The Spice Girls

Keep on Movin’ by Five

5, 6, 7, 8 by Steps

Never Ever by All Saints

Leave a Reply

