Day 23

30 Day Book Challenge

23. Best book you’ve read in the last 12 months. 

I can think of many wonderful books I’ve read in the last year. However, as I’ve already mentioned a lot of them in other posts (I don’t want be too repetitive if I can help it) I’ve decided on one I haven’t mentioned before:

the-brief-wondrous-life-of-oscar-wao

Junot Diaz’s The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao is a brilliant book that was definitely a challenge for me to read because it provoked a lot of feelings in me, including anger and sorrow. The novel follows the life of Oscar Wao, an overweight teen living in Paterson, New Jersey. He is obsessed with fantasy, science fiction and video games. He doesn’t have much luck with love, and is incredibly insecure around girls. And there’s also this big curse on his family…

I won’t give the plot away, but this is an amazing novel that really illuminates themes of family, sex, oppression and identity. I found so many of the themes, stories and characters in the novel very confronting. Quite often I went into a rage. Other times I laughed a lot. Other times I felt hollow and sad. You can certainly give it to Diaz! He’s an incredibly good writer in that he was able to create so many feelings in me. You should definitely give this gem a read.

Leave a Reply

