Day 21

30 Day Book Challenge

 21. Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished)

Well, that would be…

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger

I bought the book a few years ago at my local bookstore. I read about half of it. I don’t know whether at the time I just got distracted by other things, or the hype of the novel just wasn’t living up to me in that first half or what, but for whatever reason I’ve never ended up finishing it. I’d like to give it another go that’s for sure.

Have you guys read it? What do you think about it?

9 thoughts on “Day 21

  1. I went through a spell as a young mom when I wanted to read all the classics I felt I should have read but hadn’t. “Catcher in the Rye” fell into that category. I tried really hard to get through it – made it about 2/3 of the way through. But I despised Holden’s whining so much I just had to give up. I’ve never regretted leaving that one un-finished. Life is too short.

    Like

    1. Fair enough! I think that was definitely something to do with me not being able to finishing it, or finding other things to read I enjoyed more. I do think Holden’s voice didn’t particularly get to me. But I would like to give him another shot one day. Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I neither liked nor hated A catcher in the Rye. I finished it, though. Somehow, it was an easy read. But I didn’t manage finishing Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens. Although I didn’t like his writing style too much, I liked the story. But I somehow never read the last 10-20 pages o.O I really don’t know why :’D

    Like

Leave a Reply

