Day 11

30 Day Book Challenge

Don’t forget to check out beckysblogs 🙂

11. Favourite classic book.

I am in four minds with this question, so instead of choosing just one “classic” book, I pick four!

1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte 

Because I can relate to Jane’s quiet and righteous character, because of Mr Rochester!! and just because of the STORY! It’s a brilliant story, even if it is a little slow at the start. Jean Rhys’s prequel Wide Sargasso Sea is also worth a read.

2. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte 

I’ve noticed that this one is probably one of the underrated classic novels, but for me it’s definitely one of my favourites. Maybe because it was one of the first classic novels I ever read, but also because I think it’s just so well-plotted and that the characters are written so well, and I love how it’s full of secrets.

3. Persuasion by Jane Austen 

As mush as I like Pride and Prejudice, and most of Austen’s other novels, Persuasion is definitely my favourite. I think I love the tragic pining of Anne and Captain Wentworth, and how they are eventually brought back together. Again, I liked Anne as a character, and also how Captain Wentworth wasn’t just an ordinary, macho man – he sure has a lot of feelings!

4. Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy 

Probably one of the saddest novels I have ever read. A brilliant read. I love Tess and Angel. Alec makes my blood curdle. The 2008 mini-series was brilliant, I recommend it!

Well, that’s me for the day :).

Leave a Reply

