Day Eight

30 Day Book Challenge

8. Most underrated book.

Again, I had trouble with coming up with an answer for this. It took awhile to think of a book I love that other readers don’t like as much. Perhaps because usually I don’t pay too much attention to things like that. If I like a book, I generally don’t go around looking for reviewers that hate it, or even people who love it. I’m usually happy enough just to love the book as I do. But, anyway. I did a little “research” on goodreads, etc, to see what people thought about a few different books. Through that I’ve found my answer, even if I’m not really sure to what extent this novel is “underrated.”

Mark Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime

I didn’t end up choosing this novel because it has a low score on goodreads or anything like that. Everyone has different tastes in what they like to read, and I respect that, and that kind of rating doesn’t really mean anything. Especially when such a book as this has received lots of awards and is seen as an important piece of literature by many. What I find  really interesting how many people, in the virtual world of the Internet at least, seem to HATE this book, while others LOVE it. In my opinion this is a book that should never belong on a Worst Book Ever list as one reviewer stated it did but…well…I won’t get into that much except to say, how can anyone enjoy writing a one star review in which they totally ridicule and disrespect both the author and the piece of work? I think it’s horrible. The fact that so many people really HATE on certain books like this one is upsetting.

ANYWAY.

I read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime early during high school while I was on a holiday in New Zealand. So pretty much it was my holiday read, and I loved every moment of it. Christopher is such an interesting character, I love his voice throughout the novel, and the way Haddon managed to write through a character with Asperger’s Syndrome. I found it both an entertaining and also an educating piece of fiction. Christopher’s adventure and self-discovery (as a coming-of-age fiction) was great to read. Perhaps why this book might not have worked for some people is because they found Christopher’s character off-putting, or found his daily routines too strange and were unable to relate to him. I don’t know. But I do know that I did relate to Christopher. Sure, he’s got Asperger’s, but he’s also a shy kid and alienated from people because he’s different. I feel like that, too. That, like everyone in this world, I have to find a place to belong, but often feel isolated, lonely. Maybe that’s why I found Christopher and all his ways of thinking and feeling and not belonging in his world so incredibly real. This book took me somewhere. It’s a special book.

Leave a Reply

